What I’ve been up to: Furry Babies, Facebook, Facing Endless Rain & More

Standard

I am not dead or dreadfully ill, but I have been both busy ( writing my new column, volunteer duties for the Humane Society and working on a musical montage video for Pecan Ridge Productions. I love video editing but it is time-consuming work) and somewhat under the weather. And that’s true in more ways than one in regards to the latter. My FMS is flaring as the grey skies and gloomy, wet weather linger with us.  It is an unhappy combination.

481071_500751689993657_398857002_n

Rain, rain, go away, come again some other day . . . like in about a month. I swear, this has got to be one of the soggiest summers in south Alabama I have ever experienced. It’s late July and we have often faced drought conditions by now, only likely to be alleviated by rains in hurricane season.

Not this year. This was our road this morning BEFORE the latest torrential downpour, which came less than two hours later:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The continued rains are causing headaches for our local farmers, forcing the cancellation of a lot of outdoor events, and making us all go a bit stir crazy, not to mention bringing on fears that a bad hurricane season could mean LOTS of trees toppling in the over-saturated soil, causing widespread damage and power outages (which we experienced with Hurricanes Opal and Ivan). Almost 5,000 Pioneer Electric Coop customers, including yours truly. lost power yesterday. We were among the lucky ones who had power restored within an hour; many did not get the lights back on until today.

Things are certainly still green here, what with all that precipitation. But I long for a bit more of the sun–even though I have to be so careful with my pale eyes and skin. I miss it this year!  So I have to edit it into some of my photos . . . though I have captured a few somewhat blue skies.  A touch of it here peeping through on the right . . .

BeFunky_null_1cottonbarn.jpg

But already turning grey in a photo taken earlier on the farmhouse’s brick front porch.  Definitely needed some sunshine enhancement here!

BeFunky_P7248199angiedream.jpg

I am certain my canines wouldn’t mind a bit more sunshine and some dry days, either. We have gotten in a few walkies in between the showers in recent days–new pics!!

BeFunky_VintageColors_1rascal.jpg

Rascal with his soulful caramel brown eyes.

BeFunky_Tinytype_1seabee.jpg

That elegant and charming lady, Seabee.

BeFunky_P7238107.jpg

Our sweet, exuberant, green-eyed puppy, Buddy.

I mentioned Facebook. It’s a good tool for me to promote our video production company–the last couple of events we’ve booked have stemmed from there–as well as a place to promote our humane society and the current pet photo contest for our calendar. I have had two generous donations made via PayPal here (thank you, thank you!) and several photos emailed or linked to me. Here’s one of them . . .  lovely Sammy as photographed by his proud owner, Sebastian, aka Gisborne’s Boy. 😀

DSC_0438

Our deadline on entries is a week from today–July 31–so there’s still time, folks!!  Visit our Facebook Page and “Like”    https://www.facebook.com/BCALHS?ref=hl

And speaking of Facebook, I do find some fun stuff there~

1002104_593269507361460_332169066_n

Come on–who doesn’t love a smiling hedgehog???  And I find some wise words, too~these courtesy of Hayley Williams of Paramore . . .

64917_394830220616997_840594354_n

And then there are images that just make you giggle like a kid. Which is very nice, too.

1070054_601194023253805_1344611932_n

Benny returns to the doctor tomorrow for his follow-up. I can tell the antibiotics are taking a toll on him. He looks so tired every night, poor thing. Supposedly we will have two rain-free days Thursday and Friday. I guess I will believe that when I experience it.

Saturday, I am planning to attend this:

Courtesy of The Greenville Advocate

Courtesy of The Greenville Advocate

http://www.greenvilleadvocate.com/2013/07/23/library-hosting-second-annual-star-wars-day/

Methinks it will be fun. 😀   I plan to video it. If you haven’t visited our Pecan Ridge Productions FB Page yet, check it out at https://www.facebook.com/PecanRidgeProductions?ref=hl  I fear I’ve neglected it a bit of late, but girlfriend can only do so much multi-tasking, it seems.

 

Some actual Mr. Armitage is planned here for later, my darlings.

Oh, and I have a Facebook Page for him, too. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Richard-Armitage-Effect/204658943015664?ref=hl Go show it some love, too, if you will. 😀

 

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

41 responses »

  1. Very happy to hear you’re doing okay, i was getting a bit worried when you sort of disappeared–not happy to hear that your fibro’s been on the warpath, obviously (mine has, too, even though the heat wave has tapered off somewhat the last few days). But sounds like you’ve been getting lots done in spite of it, so carry on, dear friend, and we will look forward (as always) to more of Sir Dazzling.

    • Well, I keep up with some of you guys via facebook, but when I got a note last night from Teuchter I realized I should try to get something posted here today to give everyone a heads up. I have just been so busy and yet not having enough mental/physical energy to really go around for everything I need to get accomplished. And it is raining yet AGAIN–coming down in absolute sheets. *sigh* Sir Dazzling. I like that. 😉

      • Thought you might like that–it’s so hard sometimes to keep coming up with appropriate superlatives for our boy that I thought I’d just give him a new nickname. I don’t even remember which photo it was, but I was inspired by one someone posted on my Pinterest page the other night.

          • I am still looking for the photo of my Murphy, but it seems to be hiding from me–even though I just saw it floating around not too long ago. Also, I apparently have a Facebook page again–rather than it having disappeared, as I first thought, it seems that they had just locked it down because I hadn’t done anything on it for so long. Still probably won’t use it all that much, but at least I do have one again.

            • Stephanie, I think once you have a page, you have it forever. It creeps me out that I keep getting suggestions to friend or give birthday greetings, etc. to people I know are DEAD. 😦 Very strange. Hope the photo of Murphy shows up.

              • Yikes, that’s creepy–maybe I didn’t want to keep it after all. I didn’t ever use it much before and probably won’t now, but people keep asking me if I have one, so I guess I’ll at least have to keep up with it every once in a while.

              • One of the people committed suicide with a shotgun in his office in Montgomery. I know his family would like to close that page, but I don’t think they are able to. 😦 You can just update periodically and you should be fine.

  2. It’s wonderful to see a post from you!! I’ve missed you!! and I’m sorry to hear about your Fibro acting up as well. Mine’s been a bit stroppy, but nothing unusual. Just moving a little more slowly over here, and being much more protective of my boundaries than usual. :} I can’t wait to see Sir Dazzling as well!! I’m a bit depressed with all the Hiddle-Cumber-mania. Yes, they’re adorable, and gorgeous, and sexy, and whatnot… but neither of them make me giddy. Neither of them make me yearn. Neither of them give me the OOOOF, and I love the OOOOOF and that delightful Deliverer of the OOOOF. It’s all Richie for me. lol

    • Hey, there, Miss Gigglepants! 😀 I have to confess in the midst of all this I wasn’t too happy with all that Hiddles/Cumbie stuff either. In fact, I posted a little something on my Armitage FB page saying “Loki WHO?” and stressing Armitage is THE one for me. The other guys are talented and adorable and personable and all that—but only RA gives me the old one-two punch in the solar plexus. 😉

      • Agreed! I’m a bit sad over it. I rather worry I’m going to lose friends, since RA is the only thing we have in common. It’s silly, I know – but I’m a bit mawkish and tender right now. Divorce sucks. lol What I really need to do is get more stuff done so I can get back on Twitter and find out who’s still around and who’s not!

        • It’s entirely understandable you’d feel that way. *hugs* I haven’t been on Twitter lately either–I got tired enough on FB with all the Loki stuff the other day *rolls eyes* and it’s worse, I think, on Twitter. Anyway, know that I am still devoted to Sir Dazzling 😉

            • Loki is the trickster god in Norse mythology, but shows up as the villain in a comic-inspired movie, “The Avengers” played by Tom Hiddleston. I don’t know what the fuss is about, but there you go.

              • Thanks–doesn’t sound like my kind of film anyway and when I first began hearing about Tom Hiddleston, I had no idea who he was. Still don’t, for the most part. I guess I’m just a very single minded, one man fan, and our own dear Mr. Armitage is IT.

              • I said on Twitter I am basically monogamous by nature–ONE adored hubby and ONE adored fangurl crush. That’s really enough for me!!

              • I’ve seen TH in “Midnight in Paris,” “Thor,” “The Avengers,” and “War Horse.” I think that’s all. When we watched Thor on DVD, I played particular attention to Loki as I knew many RA fans were becoming obsessed with Hiddleston. While I think that once again the villain was more compelling and intriguing than the hero (hmmm, why does that seem so familiar???), I didn’t feel that *ooof* with him. He’s a very good actor, he’s got a great, engaging grin and is apparently very bright, personable and very charity-minded. All fine qualities. But I don’t find him sexy and handsome and alluring in the way RA is. I just don’t. And RA has all the other stuff going on, too. 😀

              • I haven’t seen any of these, although I’ve meant to catch “War Horse” for quite some time now and just never seem to get around to it. The rest of them don’t really interest me. Guess I’ve gotten way over-picky about my movies.

              • I think you would enjoy “War Horse.” Good period details and an inspirational story. There is a moment in it when Hiddleston’s character is riding into battle, and you see the moment when he realizes just what faces him—very good use of facial expression to reveal emotion of the moment. We hardly ever go to the movies. We were getting Netflix for a while, but canceled that–our connection is too slow to take advantage of streaming video from them or Amazon. 😦 So we watch on DVD or just wait until it shows up on the satellite channels. I love movies, but not enough to pay high ticket prices to see something I might find disappointing.

              • We don’t go much anymore, either–too expensive for what we can afford, so it has to be something we REALLY want to see to get us into a theatre. We did break down a few weeks ago and go out to see “The Heat” with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy (hadn’t been to a movie since “The Hobbit”). And it was worth it–nearly laughed myself sick and so did she. Very, very funny movie. Other than that, usually watch dvd’s or old movies on TCM or AMC if it’s one I don’t have on dvd–one of our problems in going to a movie is that we don’t tend to like the same things in a lot of cases. So we compromise–for instance, she sat through “The Muppets” (the new one) for me and I managed to sit through “The Hunger Games” for her (much too violent for me, so I closed my eyes a lot).

  3. These are lovely photos, lovely edits. I’m sorry the weather is being so cruel. It’s not bloody fair, but you know that. I’m just glad that you and yours are safe; fingers crossed for you. Good luck to Benny with the follow-up. I know the antibiotics are hateful, but better with than without when they’re needed.

    Yes, I’m afraid that Richard remains my one and only. No one else even comes close. I’m less perturbed by the defection or diversification of some, because those I’m closest to feel the same way I do. I do get a bit miffed at the prude brigade sometimes, but as long as they don’t bother me, I won’t bother them.

    Richarding is the best medicine, right up there with laughter and chocolate. Here’s to relief from whatever ails us *raises toast*!

      • I’m sorry–I don’t see anything to Cumberbatch or Hibbleston. Neither does ANYTHING for me. Not even a little bit. Am I missing something? I am not saying that to be nasty. I truly do not find either of them attractive, but then, I’m not overly fond of large dogs either. One bit me once. However, I did have 2 labs and loved them.

        • I think Cumberbatch is an okay actor–as for anything else, nah. As far as I know, I’ve never seen Tom Hiddleston in anything but photos and I don’t get it at all. None can hold a candle to our Sir Dazzling!

        • Cumberbatch was also apparently the most interesting character as the villain in the most recent Star Trek film. I like him as Sherlock and was impressed by his performance in “Parade’s End.” He’s got a great voice. But honestly the man looks like an otter with great cheekbones. I mean–he does. Otters are really cute but I don’t find them sexy, if you know what I mean. 😉

          • Too, too funny, Angie–can’t believe I never noticed the resemblance, especially since I adore otters (always wanted one as a pet when I was a kid–I was going to build him a slippery ramp to slide down into the bathtub). Even so–has not a patch on Sir Dazzling for my money. Besides, gazing at (drooling over, rewatching movies, dreaming about, etc.) Richard is a very time consuming occupation

    • It hasn’t rained yet today–of course, it’s only 10:30, but not a single rumble of thunder–yet. Hoping the forecast of two rainless days will hold. *fingers and toes tightly crossed*

      And it’s true for me, too, the people I am closest to in the fandom feel the same way I do. We might like other actors, even crush a little on them, but our real fangurl devotion remains with RA.

  4. P.S. You can request removal of a FB account for someone who has died. You do need to go to their Help thingy. It’s a bit of a pain, but it can be done.

  5. Thank you for posting again, Angie. I guess i’m not the only one who was worried that something dire had happened to you or Bennie. Not only is Richarding addictively great medicine, but so are YOU and this blog. HUGE BELLY LAUGH from your remark about the actor (who was he?) who looked like an otter! I did get to visit a few other blogs while you were gone. But once I find something good, I tend to stick to it.

    So please, even if you are very busy with all those other good projects, do drop us a little line or a picture so we know that you aren’t stuck in an ICU somewhere. Is there some way we can read your columns?

    Funny thing about the effect of RA and the time I’e spent getting to know and appreciate him and his work through the wonderful power of the internet. Other actors and people in general look better, I am more open, more sensitive to their good qualities. But NO ONE can hold a candle to him. Not even close.

Leave a Reply

