Guyday Friday: brunch with LW

Standard

It was a first for Sir Guy. His first reduced-sodium hot Spam sandwich with two thick slices of juicy home-grown tomato, accompanied by a glass of Coke and a dish of chilled (and equally juicy) watermelon. Ladywriter had to indulge her brunch cravings, and Sir Guy shared it with her.

angiesmapm

olivesandokra.com

(actual sandwiches looked better than this, but LW failed to take photos)

~~~~

Even with the paper towel he’d tucked into the front of his Floppy Black Pirate Shirt, the juices were rolling down that handsome stubbled chin of his. Ladywriter’s favorite Dark Knight raised a brow, that pink tongue darting out to capture the flow as he reached for his towel. “God’s tears, these are good and ripe, LW!”

~~~~

Ladywriter gave a longing inward sigh. She’d have been glad to lick that pesky juice away for him . . .

“Uhmmmm . . .  oh, yes. I do love a proper tomato and the watermelons have been just lovely this year . . . I will miss the fresh fruit and veggies.”

Sir Guy took another bite of his sandwich, chewing with his customary gusto before giving a great swallow, followed by a mouthful of Coke.  What a pleasure it is to watch that man eat . . .

BeFunky_OrtonStyle_1333

“This–spam?–is rather tasty. What an amazing assortment of foodstuffs you have in the 21st century . . . ”

LW smiled. There was an endearingly boyish side to her favorite SO Not Dead Character, that part of him that delighted and took wonder in so many things she took for granted.

“It’s not exactly banquet fare a la Nottingham Castle, Sir Guy.”

He gave her a lop-sided smile, just a hint of sadness in those kohl-rimmed blue eyes. “Better a spam sandwich with a true friend than a feast with the Treacherous Troll and a fickle, foolish, foppish prince, my lady.”

Ladywriter returned his smile, lifting her Alabama Crimson Tide thermal glass. “I shall drink to that, my dear Dark Knight. And what do you say to a walk with a ‘leper’ and her plebian canines a little later while this glorious sunshine holds?”

Sir Guy’s eyes positively twinkled as he gave her a courtly bow. “I would be honored to accompany you, my lady, along with the beauteous Lady Seabee, Sir Rascal and the young petit couchon-chien.”

Oh, how the French rolled off his tongue!

“The little pig-dog will be thrilled. He’s really taken to you, Sir Guy . . .”

A dark chocolate chuckle. “He’s a friendly little fellow. And one knows where one is with a dog . . .very loyal, they are  . . . ”

Happy (if slightly belated) Guyday Friday to all!

angiesirguypod0412

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

14 responses »

  1. So NOT Dead indeed! 😀 Spam is an iffy proposition. You either love it or hate it. I grew up eating it, so I don’t hate it. In Hawaii, they eat it all the time!! You can get it anywhere! I don’t eat it very much, or ever, now, but it’s good! Not surprised Sir Guy liked it. 😀

    • I don’t eat it very often, either, but I have been craving it for some reason. I really have cut back on sodium intake, so I guess I was missing that. Although now the reduced sodium kind is plenty salty enough got me. 😉 I have heard it’s very popular in Hawaii!! Benny will only eat it cold, whereas I like to pop it in the microwave. Sir Guy is a hearty eater. And so fortunate to be able to eat all he wants and not gain an ounce!

  2. Thank goodness for a SND Hot Sir Guy!! It certainly helped to get rid of at least some of the sad feelings I’ve had today. I guess the beards will have to go for some if not all of them now. 😦 Maybe I can renew my love for the Designer Stubble. Going straight to a Clean-faced Look would be a little hard to handle at this point! Who am I kidding?? I love him whatever he looks like. 😀

    A Chinese girl I used to work with made THE best fried rice I ever tasted. Her “secret” ingredient? Tiny cubes of Spam stirred into it! I can almost smell it now. Heavenly! 🙂

  3. Glad you had a good brunch with Sir Guy. It is lovely the way he enjoys his food and drink. I imagine Coke was something of a revelation, too. I love the notion of offering him a Coke float. Now get out there and have a walk with that hot knight and the doggies.

    • They were wonderful. Someone brought Harry, our partner in the production company a sackful from their garden and he kindly shared with us. There is nothing like a fresh and juicy homegrown mater. 😀

      • It’s only been one day and I’m missing the guys (especially one) already. December seems very far away today.

  4. I’ll happily wait for Guy! And he is SOOOOOOO not dead! It wasn’t only Guy drooling whilst reading his description of eating! Oh Angie what do you do to us!

Leave a Reply

