The highlights on my lowlights & CURLS (you-know-who’s)

Standard

So this morning I got my rear in gear (in spite of too little sleep) and got myself up, spackled and dressed and hit the farmers market for some more fresh, juicy tomatoes. I also scored a small jar of homemade blackberry jelly. A girl needs her little treats.

And then on to get my hair “did” along with a little waxing and plucking. Kristi added lowlights to give my color more dimension and flat-ironed it. Here are the results.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

BeFunky_P7308474.jpg

I have a flat iron–a very nice one–but with my shoulder issues due to the FMS I hardly ever use it. So you won’t see me like this very often. I think Benny really prefers my “big” hair, but he was nice enough not to say so. He did, however, point out my hair seemed to be “expanding back out” tonight. I laughed and said you can’t keep those wavy/curly hair shafts down for TOO long. Not in the current heat and humidity.

~~~

Somehow, somewhere between the hair salon and the car dealership I managed to twist Even Worse Knee and it bugged me the rest of the day, but a bit of RICE–Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation– helped quite a lot. once I got home.  I spent considerable time at the dealership working once again on the Star Wars Day video–I could tweak my creative projects until the bloody cows come home–but I finally got a version I was more or less satisfied with and left it uploading to YT with Benny so I could come home and hang out with the ice bag. I’d plan to do several other things but only managed a trip to CVS to spend yet more ExtraBucks before they expired. Not that I’ve ever wasted any by forgetting all about them. Not this girl. *snort*

~~~~~

Thought you might like to see me sporting the “new” vintage hats purchased from my friend and former co-worker Sherry who now has her own vintage and collectibles shop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, I DO love a good hat. I guess I can wear the white hat when I feel like a good girl–and the black one when I am feeling just a bit BAD. 😉

BeFunky_1003308_680332591982163_1147023227_n.jpg

Nape curls and waves make me feel naughty. *sigh*

BeFunky_ff994834_680326831982739_1219211921_n.jpg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love to you all. I shall try to catch up with your comments tomorrow. Lots more rain expected, so I will be staying home and staying inside, I suspect. 😉

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

43 responses »

    • Thanks, yes, I have the warm skin tones I got from my daddy, which clash with the ashy tones that my hair is rapidly accumulating. Putting some warmth back into it seems to help.

      • I love the ’40’s styles in almost anything–still one of my favorite eras of movie making. I tend not to look good in hats, but I love seeing them on others who wer them well–as you most certainly do.

          • Have not worn high heels in more years than I care to count at this point, but I was never comfortable walking in them and they almost always hurt my feet. Much prefer my Birkenstocks.

              • It also never helped that I’m such a klutz to begin with and wearing high heels made me nearly six feet tall–always felt like I as about to fall over.

  1. Angie, Your hair looks great. The first time I got my hair flat ironed Mr 70 wanted to know what happened to the curls, I told him they would be back once water hit my hair. I only time I get my hair flat ironed is when I get it done, I don’t own one or have the time for work, just put it up on bad hair days and well most days.

  2. You hair looks wonderful. As a wavy haired gal myself I would save that look for special occasions! Life is too short to spend it fighting with the curl. The colour is sensational and makes you look younger.

    Very nice

    • I have decided it will just be for special occasions–it’s too much hassle to flat iron it regularly (not to mention the damage it could do). I am simply embracing the wave for every day but trying to use some new products that will work better on my “aging” hair. The texture is definitely different–more coarse and wiry. I really love the color. It was pricey to get it done but at least I can enjoy it for the next six weeks or so! 😀

  3. “Spackled” – snort – great word choice. 😀 Love your eye makeup by the way. It suits those gorgeous baby blues so well. And your hair is gorgeous!! But then, I always think your hair is gorgeous. And I love hats too, so I love the hats. But I also really enjoyed the sunglasses… Secret Agent Ange!!

    Oh, and that Richard guy, he’s not so bad. (gasp) THUD

    • Thank you, sweetie. Kristi touched the eyes up for me after my appt. The bronze color works well with the blue peepers. 🙂 I do love my accessories. Hats, sunglasses, handbags, scarves (although too hot and sticky for much of the latter right now). And yeah, that Rich is a bit of alright. 😉

  4. Oh!! But my FMS has also been AWFUL this week!! Lots and lots of bruises, some very deep – 3 hr naps almost every afternoon – headaches and nausea and just feeling UGH and sore and shaky. Dropping things all the time. Basic things take me an extra hour. (shaking fist at sky) DANGITALL! Oh well!! What can you do? :} xoxoxooxoxxoxoxo

    • It must be the week for it–I go through the whole day thinking I’ll never wake up completely, falling asleep on the couch in the middle of watching something or working on a project, and aching like I’ve been hit by a Mack truck–ah, the joys.

    • A lot of people have been having trouble at FB, too. Last night it stormed here and I didn’t get to sleep until after 3 am and then kept waking up with my right knee just throbbing and thunder pounding outside. Lots of weird dreams when I did get any sleep. It was a singularly unproductive day in most ways. Dang it all, indeed!! *sigh*Let’s hope things improve for ALL of us.

      • A-men. I really hope they do. 😦 Sitting here right now with heating pads on my back and neck because I have just this random, I don’t even know what pain and it’s just awful. Starts under my ribs and flows up into my neck and head. Has been happening since afternoon… :\ I’m so ready to not be in pain for a while. :} And now I feel like a big whiner. I had forgotten how exhausting this is! I don’t know how people do it ALL the TIME who are true chronic sufferers. I am a big baby!! lol My hat is off to you. Really.

        • Oh, hugs (gentle ones) my friend. It’s so depressing when it just hurts so much and you can’t really get much if any relief. And don’t feel bad about venting, we all need to do that sometimes, yours truly included. 😀

          • Thank you!! I appreciate that. :} I have been SO lucky the last few years, and I really was aware of it, but I had forgotten. It’s easy to forget how absolute a mistress pain really is. And I know I’m still dealing with the aftermath of the December 29 car accident as well as everything else, so I’m sure this will take a while. (schooling self to patience) I’ve never really had the patience for patience. snort

      • I wish you Fibro sufferers could take some of my MS meds. At least some of them help me through the “episodes.” One of them helps me through the spazzy jazzies. I’ve been housebound for the past 3 weeks because of the humidity and heat up here. Angie–even the rub hasn’t helped as much. Unfortunately nothing helps with the grabbers. (The inability to close my hands around stuff.) I can type because I don’t have to close my hands, but I spend a lot of time backspacing to correct spelling. So group hug–oops sorry tripped. Oops stepped on someone’s foot. Love you all–We’ll get through this I promise. The weather has to break. I’m going to crawl outside naked and dance to the weather gods….

        • I love the term “spazzy jazzies”. I feel SO spazzily jazzy right now, it ain’t even cute. Although actually it does make me laugh a lot. Spazzy Jazzies will make me laugh even more! And yes!! I took a typing test this week and my usual 55/60 wpm is waaaay down, I’m having to backspace and delete so much due to brain fog and just stupid hand syndrome. For some reason, my left hand keeps adding Es to the ends of words. Randomly. It’s some strange Horrible Faux Medieval Disease. DESPAIR! Wait, I mean “Despaire”. Honestly. SNORT.

          Love you too. Perhaps you could write in an adorable but incredibly clumsy dwarf girl character to your next LadyO story. She could represent all of us and save the day with a Spazzy Jazzy or a well timed Grabber. lol

          • One of the toughest things for me is that my hands seem to have developed minds of their own–my fingers will catch in these muscle spasms that hurt all the way up my arms (they even wake me up sometimes) and i have to massage and massage the fingers and the knuckles to make it release. I’ve always been a good typist, but now I’m thinking of giving my backspace key a name just so it won’t seem so impersonal when I have to use it 400 times a day. Sometimes I just have to stop what I’m doing and consciously make myself do hand stretches to try and limber them up a little It’s getting to that time of year when I’ll need to be working on gift projects almost nonstop to be ready in time for Christmas–it’s a bit daunting.

Leave a Reply

