It’s Friendship Day: Thank You, RA, and all my RA friends

Standard

BeFunky_P8038562edit.jpg

A friend is a precious thing. A true friend encourages and supports you; they cheer you on when you need it and give you a good prodding when you need that, too. And when you’re sad and hurting–physically, mentally, emotionally–they hurt right along with you.

941141_569217899776690_585121581_n22

bqodsw_cyaehuvm_large

A friend understands that sometimes all you need is a compassionate heart and a listening ear. You don’t expect the other person to solve all your problems or cure all of your ailments; you simply need to know you are not alone in the darker parts of your journey.

And when the moments are happy ones, celebratory ones, well–they celebrate right with you! They get silly and goofy and slap happy and make the experience even more enjoyable. It’s true–sharing with our good friends multiplies our joys and divides our sorrows.

I think Richard Armitage is the kind of person you’d want for a friend. Kind, considerate, sensitive to other people’s feelings, a team player with a great sense of humor (with a little bit of a naughty side): just knowing you’d see that smile on a regular basis would surely lift one’s spirits.

0ac3f78b1ebc7ab418a552186c61993f

But wait, I do see that smile on a regular basis. He does lift my spirits and helps me through the hard times.

Richard isn’t technically my friend, as he doesn’t know me from Adam’s house cat, and yet–what a lovely, benign, encouraging presence he is in my life.  My life is all the richer because of Richard Armitage. After all, were it not for him, I wouldn’t have come in contact with all you lovely, funny, witty, bright, kind, generous, creative folks!

So on this Friendship Day, I give thanks for that extraordinary friend I haven’t yet met, Richard Armitage, and for all those I have come to know through this blog and the RA fandom in general. Let me simply say–y’all ROCK!!

BBCA_01

 

 

166628205

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

7 responses »

  1. Beautiful sentiments, Angie–I may not know Richard personally but his presence in my life is almost a force all its own and I thank God for it everyday. Not to mention all the wonderful people I’ve come in contact with in the fandom–what a lovely way to celebrate Friendship Day!

  2. Amen! And you too are amazing, Angie, the way you put yourself out there and stir up good feelings. Others have said that they love everybody in the RA community. Well, so do I, even if I don’t say much. I love your pictures, especially the one of our sweet RA with his arms around those two fans who have flown so far to meet him.

  3. And “Happy Friendship Day” to you, too, Angie, and all your readers. I agree whole-heartedly – through our admiration for Richard, we are all connected, even when we’re feeling most alone.

    And “Thank you” for your wonderful blog – even though I may not have commented here or on Twitter much lately, I never ever miss reading your posts

Leave a Reply

