“A little laughter in life.” Mr. Armitage, Joy Ambassador, would surely approve.

Standard

BeFunky_daddyoverallschair.jpg

BeFunky_daddybridge.jpg

(photos above)

Daddy in his military uniform on a suspension bridge in beautiful Tenn., where he was stationed during WW II as a military policeman at a German POW camp.

 Daddy in his favorite attire, a pair of Liberty brand overalls, sturdy work boots and a cap, sitting in his favorite piece of furniture, his recliner.

My daddy always said, “A little laughter in life.” Daddy didn’t always have a lot to laugh about. His mother was a semi-invalid from the time he was a toddler, leaving the help to more or less raise him,  while his father was a tyrant of the “do as I say and not as I do” variety. Daddy almost lost an arm and did lose portions of two fingers in a sawmill accident as a teen. He had to work so hard on the farm–in spite of the fact my grandfather had enough farm hands to require his own company store and to labor in the fields, cotton gin and the saw mill–that my daddy ended up dropping out of high school. His home burned down not too long after that.

During infantry training during WWII, he suffered a nasty bayonet injury that had him hospitalized once more. He worked long, hard hours mining iron ore, planting fields, baling hay, and tending to tens of thousands of chickens so he could provide for his family. It was not an easy life.

Being able to laugh and joke and see the funny side of it all helped my daddy through some of the darker patches. Maybe those of us who have struggled and known hardships and sorrows also most appreciate the relief and release smiles and laughter can bring.

angielaughter

Richard Armitage is someone who seems to understand the value of laughter, of having a strong sense of humor and the ability to let one’s playful side come out. He takes his work seriously; himself, not so much, I suspect.  The mischievous twinkle in those blue eyes, the teasing smiles, the geeky giggles, the big guffaws from deep in that well-toned belly–the sheer infectious joy he can spread when we see and hear him share “a little laughter in life” is a wondrous thing.

He hasn’t experienced some of the misfortunes that befell my father, but I am certain Richard’s had his share of personal and professional disappointments, rejections and heartaches (his characters certainly have!). Hooray that he is garnering attention and accolades and going from strength to strength these days. Yet he’s never become too full of himself nor has he forgotten the gift of good humor.

RAmagicallydelicious

11846_550904584961874_1588926299_n

13380_142969505889608_1955124753_n

64141_556686684371206_381556829_n

479857_10151589018224239_1538816393_n

bbc79.png-laughter-morning-

BeFunky_Grunge_11

I hope wherever you are today, you are able to find comfort, and release, joy and peace through “a little laughter in life.” My daddy and Mr. Armitage would certainly approve.

BeFunky_Image2-1timeline.jpg

My mama, daddy, sisters Sara and Debbie and yours truly–Christmas ’97, I believe, at our house.

And by the way, my daddy used to play Santa every year for certain community events and also visited the homes of friends who asked him to drop in and pay a visit on their youngsters. He got such a kick out of spreading holiday joy. I can envision Richard doing something like that–with a bit of padding, of course. 😀 He’s already got the deep, jolly laugh and twinkling blue eyes. 😀

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

8 responses »

  1. He makes me want to smile just looking at him–and somehow, I can’t ever see him taking himself too seriously, which is a lovely quality to have. He’s come so far and worked so hard to get here, and I do sometimes see flashes in his eyes that make me think his life has not been all a bed of roses–but still he has triumphed magnificently. may he always continue to do so.

      • I still can’t exactly figure out just what it is the Kardashians are famous for–it certainly isn’t talent!

        That said–I’m with you. No one like Sir Dazzling!

  2. I love your writing so much ! I really like how you describe the little parts of your family memories. And a Richard smile always cheers me up !

Leave a Reply

