‘Black Sky’ may have new title: excerpt from interview with screenwriter

Standard

An excerpt from an interview at allstephenmoyer.com with John Swetnam, the screenwriter who penned the script for Black Sky. Has RA’s found footage tornado flick undergone a name change? Could be . . .

Talk  about your film, “Into the Storm” (formerly known as Black Sky) and where did you get that idea from? And, what made you decide to write about the weather? Because of Evidence, Todd Garner, a big time producer who has produced 100’s of movies, emailed my agent saying he had read and liked some of the found footage I had done. It was a three word email and it said, “Inspirational, tornado and POV.” I had lived in Nashville and my friends lost everything in a tornado and as soon as I saw those three words, I knew exactly how to tell this story in a very different way.

That one’s already done, we’ve just screened it last weekend and it will be probably be coming out next year. It’s a studio picture from New Line Cinema/Warner Brothers. It will be my first, big, big, big movie. Have you seen Twister? It’s like Twister, but with a fresh twist. When I saw it with the audience, it was unbelievable and so big and the special effects are absolutely amazing. The director used to work for James Cameron for 20 years and he’s this genius of framing and effects and I was just blown away . . .

complete interview here: http://www.allstephenmoyer.com/exclusive-interview-with-evidence-writer-john-swetnam/

a2ccfq-cuaazcad-large_phixr

I don’t care so much what they call it; I’d just like to finally be able to SEE it!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

2 responses »

  1. I saw a recent tweet that the producers said no decision on changing the name yet had been made and it still being considered “Black Sky.” I don’t care if they change it- but “Into the Storm” was a miniseries about Churchill.

Leave a Reply

