Fedoralady is meandering–but all roads lead back to a class act.

Standard

My mind is going in about a thousand different directions, so bear with me, dear friends.

MileyGate:

OK, so I didn’t actually watch  Miley Cyrus or anyone else on the VMAs the other night, but my husband did. And it was certainly all over FB yesterday.  He said he watched because he wanted to gauge the state of pop music and where it seems to be going (his radio is busted on the Jeep, so he’s been listening to old faves on the iPod).

As with so many others,  hubby was less than impressed and not just with Cyrus’s performance (“The song was terrible–and her hair! She looked like Hellboy. And what was with the giant teddy bears??”). He was mystified by the entire state of pop music as presented on the VMAs, it seems.

“Whatever happened to–TALENT??” Benny said, heaving a sigh and shrugging his shoulders. (His imitation of Kanye West dancing while clearly performing with AutoTune was brilliant. I only wish I had captured it on video so I could share it with you.)

As to where pop music is headed–

“To hell in a hand basket” seems to be the answer he got.  Is it really that much worse, or are we just getting old and stodgy?

Miley-Cyrus-performance-at-MTV-VMA-2013-2223057

These are some of the tamer images.

This blog post at Roadkillgoldfish pretty much sums up what I would want to tell a daughter or granddaughter or niece–it’s worth the read:

http://roadkillgoldfish.com/2013/08/26/dear-daughter-let-miley-cyrus-be-a-lesson-to-you/

So why do I bring up former kiddie star turned trashy pop tart Miley on a blog more or less devoted to the classy Richard Armitage? A study in contrasts. Miley is clearly an immature young woman desperate for attention, and I learned a long time ago that for some people, negative attention is better than no attention at all. She is one more former child star who came up in the show biz industry and, I suspect, didn’t have enough truly caring, nurturing people surrounding her, wisely advising her and telling her “no” and meaning it.  We all need those kinds of boundaries.

Richard is someone who also grew up dreaming of a career as a performer. He attended a special school as a young adolescent to study and train in the fine arts, a place where he was expected to work hard and pay his dues. Richard clearly had caring parents who did their best to “raise him right,” and who sacrificed so he could go to Pattison’s.  Later, when he grew dissatisfied with his career in musical theatre, he returned to school, to LAMDA and focused on his acting.

pink pussycats

Richard, center, performing in Cats. My edit. Original courtesy of Richard Armitage Net.

He kept working hard to pay the bills and to make ends meet when the dancing/acting gigs didn’t always fall into place over the years. He kept studying, practicing, training, working hard to hone his craft. It’s never been about “hey, look at me!” with Richard.

TheFourAliceBakers-Rehearsal-001

Rehearsing for The Four Alice Bakers with future Spooks co-star, Sophia Myles. Courtesy of RANet

He loves what he does; he clearly has a passion for it. Richard wants to inhabit the characters he takes on, to become Thorin, Thornton, Porter, Gisborne–and he accomplishes that for us.

BeFunky_thehobbit-p1_4389.jpg

My edit. Original from RA Net

He doesn’t need AutoTune to give him a wonderful voice or to change it for a role; he does things the old-fashioned way. With TALENT. Linked with hard work and determination and focus.

BeFunky_untitled-233.jpg

Which brings me back to Miley. Put on some clothes, put your tongue back in your mouth and work on improving yourself. Singing lessons, acting lessons, dancing lessons. Start giving back to the community. Support charities. Think about someone other than yourself. Look to some good role models (not necessarily within your family). Go for quality in life, not quantity. Millions paying attention to you for all the wrong reasons doesn’t necessarily bode well for your long-term career.

I know of a really great individual to look to as a role model . . .

robertascroftcolorcloseupseapia

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

6 responses

  1. I’m curious to know what you base your conclusion on that Miley Cyrus , didn’t have enough truly caring, nurturing people surrounding her, wisely advising her and telling her “no” and meaning it?” Or that she’s desperate for attention? I always thought she was raised close to her parents, that they moved to accommodate her early career, that she was raised in a church going family – I mean she was a Disney kid.

    • Don’t take this the wrong way–but have you followed her AT ALL over the last few years?? Things have changed considerably since Hannah Montana. She’s been involved with drugs (photos and video evidence), she’s half-naked most of the time, her songs are downright sleazy–she’s doing her best to distance herself from the whole Disney image, believe you me.

      She was completely estranged from her parents for a while, although she does seem to be talking to daddy again.

      Sadly a lot of show biz parents are very happy to turn a blind eye to certain things if they are part of a gravy train that child is bringing in (that’s been true for eons) and Hannah Montana was hugely popular and a big merchandising bonanza. The more I read, the more I think Disney may have white-washed things a bit along the way re her family. Her dad says “Hannah Montana wrecked our lives.” Well, he’s the dad, he’s the responsible grownup. He should have intervened.

      Her behavior in recent years is very much of the “look at me, look at how wild and sexy I am” type of behavior.

      And to me, that reeks of desperation and that is very off-putting.

      I can’t see a whole lot of Christianity in her behavior these days, either. I feel sorry for her but I also feel sorry for all the little girls who used to look up to her. It’s disappointing for them. 😦

  2. Great post, Angie.

    I will have to look at the link to the other blog later as I am heading out to work in a minute but I agree wholeheartedly with you advice to Miley ( if only she would read it and heed it!)

    I know nothing about the Cyrus family so, speaking generally, I think sometimes kids act out not because they haven’t been loved and cared but because that love and care has been without boundaries. Kids need boundaries and indulgent parenting can leave kids needing to push against something – they don’t need mom and dad to be their groovy friends, they need them to be their parents. How do you rebel when you live in a family where anything goes? You either become ultra conservative ( thinking Saffy in Ab Fab) or you parade your skinny little body around in skimpy underwear, with tattoos on display and a silly hairdo. I’d like to think she will look back on that and cringe- but she probably won’t.

    • Yeah, I am NOT saying they don’t love her, I am sure they do, but I honestly don’t think the boundaries were there. So many kids who grow up in this kind of environment are exposed to so much at such a young age, and they aren’t always ready for all of it. Kids don’t need their parents to be buddies, they need them to be PARENTS. And if you see warning signs your child is in a bad situation, then take the steps to remedy it! I know that’s easy for someone who doesn’t have children to say, but I’m old enough and have worked with enough young people throughout the years to have learned a few things.

      And she’s engaged, which I thought was over but is apparently back on–I’d say to Liam Hemsworth– my friend, get out while the getting is good. She is SOOO not ready to be a wife.

      The link is definitely worth reading when you get the chance. Thanks!

  3. There are different ways to look at, but none of it really indicates that her parents are to blame unless they’re to blame in the first instance for letting her become a child star, which is a whole different issue. I think the comparison, even for the purpose of contrast is invalid, when measuring parents raising a child star in Hollywood in the 90’s and middle class parents of an earlier generation raising their son in Leicestershire. And so what if she’s going a little overboard to distance herself from Disney now in order to create a different image for herself? And yes, Richard Armitage studied for his craft and yes he worked at some crazy jobs when he couldn’t get work and yes he’s a wonderful guy and perfect and a gentlemen -now. But who knows what he did when he was a nobody in London? Can you swear he never smoked pot? Is it even likely he never smoked pot in the 80s and 90s? And Miley Cyrus worked from a far younger age in a different profession and apparently didn’t need the training Richard Armitage did to pursue her career.
    But my main point is that I don’t think it’s valid, on the evidence available, to put it on the parents. And as you say, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    • Look, I am not putting it all on the parents, she has to make some decisions for herself now and I think the road she is choosing to travel is not a good one. I don’t know what he did when he was a nobody, but I suspect if it had been all that bad, we’d all know by now because he isn’t a nobody anymore, he’s famous.

      Whereas Cyrus seems to want to make sure everybody knows everything she does–I wouldn’t be surprised if she or her people leaked some of the stuff to the press in the first place.

      They are two very different people–and I said it was a study in contrasts. I wanted to make a point that to achieve real and lasting success it’s best to work hard and do your best and let your work speak for you, instead of crazy outfits and your tongue perpetually sticking out to one side.

      Gee, I had no idea this stupid post would be so controversial. Comments closed.