So here’s what has occupied my time–amongst other things

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMissy uses those puppy dog eyes to great effect.

A few days ago my husband wakes me from a late afternoon nap to tell me to get dressed. We go down to the old farmhouse. Out front, beneath a tree, someone has left four puppies, a floral sheet, and two plastic bowls, one containing water and the other, some dry dog food.ย  No idea, of course, who dropped them off. We suspect someone from the neighboring county, which doesn’t have a proper county animal shelter. They aren’t the first pups that have been dumped out here; sadly, I fear they also won’t be the last.

So here we are, in the foster pet parent business. We can’t possibly keep all four–I suspect they will grow up to be big dogs, and we’ve already three good-sized ones we are hard-pressed to keep in kibble–but we will care for and love them until good homes can be found for three of them.ย  They’ve been well-fed and seem in good shape. For now, we’ve named the two girls Mollie and Missy and the two boys Patches and Reo.

Took me a while to sort out the three black ones. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am beginning to see their little personalities emerging.ย Missy and Reo are very fond of giving kisses. I am covered with puppy germs on cheeks, chin and throat. And I love it.ย Mollie and Patches were a bit shy in the beginning, but discovering they enjoy belly rubs and a bit o’ cuddling, too.

1238766_617111074978331_1277194832_n

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reo posing on the hood of my daddy’s old pickup truck.ย  Below, Missy trying out one of the deck chairs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_4018

We were gone a good part of the day shooting a rather lengthy anniversary celebration in another neighboring county, and upon our arrival back home four little wriggly bodies came out to greet us. I had to sit down and visit with them even though I was *pardon the pun* dog tired and still wearing my heat-absorbing Videographer Black. Later I headed back out and with the small amount of battery power left in the camera, snapped this puppy swarm.ย  They are funny, and endearing, and just So Cute.

I’d say more about what’s been going on with me, but I am quite tired and my head feels stuffed to the gills at the moment.ย  Maybe tomorrow, duckies.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

24 responses »

  1. They are soooo cute. Mr. 70’s and my first dog was one that someone left at the end of friends of my inlaws driveway. They bought it over to my inlaws and she fell for Mr. 70, who fell for her ( a black lab mix ). I was gone at the time, so they become best buddies till I came home ( I was gone for 2 months on duty).

  2. You are so lucky to have a husband that loves animals! I have fostered dogs, had to give it up, my husband couldn’t take the crying for days, everytime I found them a home. They are great people out there and the are mighty cute. Good Luck!

  3. Oh, they are so CUTE–those adorable little faces and big puppy eyes. I am so glad you found them and took them home with you even if you can’t keep them. Wish I could take one.

  4. Gosh those puppies look cute. If I lived in the same hemisphere I might pay a visit and adopt one right now. My two cats wouldn’t be very impressed though.

Leave a Reply

