I get by with a little help from my friends–and my stylist

Standard

As you regular readers all know, I haven’t been in the most positive frame of mind in recent days. I’ve felt tired and old and poor and frumpy and simply overwhelmed by life’s circumstances.

Sometimes,  a girl just needs to go to the salon. I was overdue for a haircut and my roots cried out for help.  I do have a bit of money tucked away from the sale of the pretties . . .

When I saw on FB that my stylist was offering 10 percent off all services today, it was a clear sign. A sign to rid myself of a few inches of hair (I’d reached the point where I felt the mane was one more thing wearing and weighing me down) along with the white roots that were glaring at me every time I looked in the mirror and making me feel positively ancient. Not to mention those pesky eyebrow hairs and those on the spot we incorrectly call the upper lip (it’s a ‘stache, OK? I have one. Blonde, thankfully, but a ‘stache none the less).

And so I spent a relaxing time of it at the Phoenix this afternoon, getting waxed and colored and cut and flat-ironed. I feel a little guilty (OK, it doesn’t take much to make me feel that way) but I also feel—renewed. I had to give the ladies in the salon a downright sassy toss of my head that would do Sir Guy of the luscious long locks proud. Made them laugh. That made me feel good. I like to make people laugh and feel good.

BeFunky_null_1s8kker1.jpg

BeFunky_null_259gouache.jpg

BeFunky_IMG_4110laughing.jpg

And so yes, I do feel better tonight. I am still experiencing some physical pain, but it’s more manageable. I have more hope tonight, and a lot of that is down to you lot. Thank you. Bless you.  You really are a grand group of people, and it makes me feel so proud to be a part of such a lovely group of bright, witty, caring, generous, kind individuals. Believe me when I say I am mulling over what many of you have said in both your blog comments and your emails.  Decisions to be made. Changes to be embraced. *gives a sassy toss of her sleek blonde hair*

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

52 responses »

  1. Looks terrific. I’m so glad that you’re feeling at least a little better!I meant to get over here yesterday to let you know that you are so not alone in so much of what you’re going through. I can’t speak to the chronic pain, but I can to the chronic lack of cash. It can be a really isolating thing…no one wants to broadcast that they’re broke, so we turn inward…vicious cycle. Is there any possibility that you are eligible for SS Disability? I know the application process is a bear, but it migh be worth your while ultimately…

    Here’s to an even brighter tomorrow!

    • The FMS makes me qualified to at least apply, especially since I am over 50. I have been somewhat reluctant because it feels as if I am giving up–and yet, I did work, and long hours, too, for years and it got harder and harder for me to keep going. It’s a frustrating situation. And no, no one really wants to admit they are having troubles of that sort. I don’t even mention my physical ailments very often around people I know, I just smile and say “I’m fine.” Automatic response.

      • IMO, for what it’s worth, you are exactly the type of person that these programs were designed to assist – you’ve worked all your life, paid into the pool, etc. Really, it’s a trade off – the lack of affordable health care allowed by the same government that runs SS-Dis has let you down, so you may as well try to recoup it through an avenue that *is* available. It’s nit giving up, just a leg up. Whatever you decide to do, my thoughts and prayers are with you.

        • Totally agree with obscura here. Take advantage of whatever programs are available, because we in the U.S. of A. don’t have as may support systems as other countries. Good luck with all your problems, Angie! You look mah-velous! 😀

        • Obscura is right. Many people who are more “able” than you are qualify and receive benefits. I would much rather my taxes go to help you, when you have done the right thing all your life and when you and Benny have had to work so hard all these years. You deserve to benefit. And as you know, I am personally aware of just how much FMS and past injuries can cut into your productivity and your sense of self-worth. Damn it, Angie, it’s not giving up, but simply putting your hand on what is rightfully yours.

          • Please go apply and everytime they deny your claim reapply. They will deny it the first time. it’s a given. They do that to weed out the garbage claims of people who are too lazy to reapply. (Remember me, I worked for the gov’t.) Make a bunch of copies of your claim, then you don’t have to keep redoing it. Since the gov’t just approved (2 years ago) MS as a legitimate disability (can you believe it… only 2 years ago) you should be golden. I can’t apply for disability because unfortunately he has a retirement. I don’t have a retirement or my own health insurance, but he does. I’m lucky that he’s retired Military. I’m covered. So I’m saying go on line to Social Security, download the forms, they should be PDFs. (We filled them out for my step son. (Bi-polarism). Take them to the SS office. If you don’t do it I will come to LA, and it won’t be for a pup. Understand….xoxoxo

            • I can’t believe MS was only approved two years ago??? Geez. Benny did not retire from the AF, either, we came back home to try and look after our parents. I don’t regret that at all, but in terms of our financial situation, it wasn’t the best move, truthfully.

              • All the more reason for you to apply and keep applying and take advantage of whatever might be out there–fair warning, they make it as tough as they can, but if you’re patient and persistent, you should be able to get some help. You are unemployed and you have health issues and you have no health insurance–those alone should qualify you for assistance to get what you need. Go for it!

              • Thanks for the support, I appreciate it. And I know they try to throw up a lot of road blocks. It’s the good ol’ USA government, right??

          • Thanks, Leigh. I know of some people who will likely raise their eyebrows over it, but then, I really shouldn’t worry about them, should I?? There will always be THOSE people. 😉

  2. Your hair looks lovely – but then I always think your hair looks lovely. Maybe you just have lovely hair! I’m glad to hear you are feeling a bit more optimistic – a day at the beautician is a cheap therapy that you mustn’t feel guilty for having.

    • Well, I guess my hair is pretty good hair–nice and thick–just needs a little more TLC these days. 😉 The texture is changing with the change in color, but the new products Kristi introduced me to really seem to be working.

  3. There’s nothing a new haircut doesn’t help! 😉

    So glad you are feeling a bit more optimistic! Give Missy a cuddle for me, please…

  4. Getting refreshed and pampered was a smart thing to do. The lift it has given you is worth every penny, and no matter what financial problems you have, the few dollars you spent on this wouldn’t make a difference.And it looks great.

  5. So grateful that you feel better. I sent an email with some idesa from my gmail account. If you didn’t get it, it may have gone to junk mail/spam folder. I know you have a lot of input from orhers wanting to help to consider . Just want to make sure you got mine. Love You!

    • I did get it, Sis, but you know what? Your email about Biloxi went to the junk mail folder, so I didn’t find it until yesterday when it struck me I needed to check it (don’t do it very often). A reminder I need to check on these things more regularly. Thanks so much for EVERYTHING–you and so many other people have just been great.

  6. I know how great I always feel after a haircut (usually much needed–I have a tendency to wait too long in between cuts)–my hair is so thick and heavy that I’ve often said I’m the only person I know who can get a haircut and lose five pounds. So glad you’re feeling a bit better and glad that some of the things we’ve said helped.

    • Mine is not quite as thick as it used to be but there’s still a lot of it and after letting it grow for so long (I looked at my driver’s license yesterday from a couple of years back and was shocked at how short it was!!) It felt really good to get some of it off. 😀

  7. Your hair looks great Angie! It’s amazing what getting your hair done does for one’s spirits! I had mine cut yesterday and I felt a whole new person afterwards! One of my handsome grandsons and I went for lunch afterwards and it was fun. He’d driven me to my appointment so he deserved a treat! I only ever coloured my hair once and that was many years ago when I only had a few grey hairs! I wasn’t impressed with the results so never did it again. Now it is an all-over “salt and pepper” but at my age I think it goes with my skin tone. The important thing is, I think, that I’m comfortable with how it looks even though I wish it was a lot thicker! 🙂

    • I just wish I could manage to style it the way she does– she gives it a blow out and then flat irons it and it comes out very silky and shiny and “almost straight” as Benny said. LOL Just getting those few inches cut off made my head truly feel lighter (and now that summer has come back with a vengeance, I am COOLER!) Yes, being comfortable with yourself is very important, my dear. 😀

  8. I’m relived your doing better. Pampering works. Apply for any and everything you possibly can. As Fernando (Saturday Night Live) says: “YOU LOOK MAHVELOUS”.

    • It felt rather blissful. I almost felt like heaving a huge sigh the way my dogs do when they lay their heads against me. 😀 LOL Well, it is better to LOOK Mahvelous than to FEEL Mahvelous so I am glad I look Mahvelous!! 😉

  9. Forgot–and don’t worry for two seconds about what anyone else might think or say. People in this country need help, too.

  10. Here I am late to the new do party, but you look great and I hope you feel that way too. The wonders a hair cut can do for us.

    See if you can get the SSI, you need it and why not. My cousin who is in his 50’s just got it last year after not being able to work for a few years.

    Take Care

Leave a Reply

