I got the hat and the earbobs; or, when a grownup plays dressup

Standard

If you aren’t following my second blog yet—time’s a-wastin’! Here’s the latest post. šŸ˜€

Musings from a Mid-Century Modern Girl

When I was a little kid, ere those many, many years ago, I remember some of the grown-up ladies referring to earringsā€“specifically the kind you clipped onto your earlobesā€“as ā€œearbobs.ā€Ā  Mama didnā€™t have pierced ears in those days, and I used to wear her clip-ons when I played dress up. Lordie, but those things pinched like the devil!thCA26PHVA

Still, if you were gonna play dress up, you needed to do it right, and that meant sporting earbobsĀ and loads of necklacesĀ and lipstick (courtesy of those tinyĀ Avon sampleĀ lippiesĀ that were the perfect size for a childā€™s hands), not to mentionĀ Mamaā€™s old fur coat of dubious provenance, while wobbling dangerouslyĀ inĀ a pair of herĀ stiletto heels. Beauty can be painful, donā€™tchaknow.

thCA3FMDL6

college-style-little-girl-dress-updressupgirlsthCAJHNGHB

It was so much fun playing dress up, pretending to be anyone from a fairytale princess to a pop star to a cowgirl on a wagon train or intrepid explorer traveling through time. Just aā€¦

View original post 597 more words

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

6 responses »

  1. I was looking through my stuff to finish off a piece of jewelry I was making, I found some plastic orchids that look like they used to be earrings. I might just have to make them back into earrings and send them off to the widder Frufru. I happened to have some hats that were my mother in law’s that are just gathering dust, would someone I know like to have them? One is a beauiful amish style.

Leave a Reply

