Seeing with the eyes of wonder and delight: lessons learned from Scarlett

Standard

OK, if you aren’t following my newest blog yet, here’s your chance. ūüėČ Trying to be a Positive Patty and not a Negative Nancy . . . learning from my newest family member. ūüėÄ

Musings from a Mid-Century Modern Girl

As most of you know, we now share our home with a¬†‚Äúmocha calico‚ÄĚ (Benny has dubbed her)¬†named Scarlett.¬† Like the heroine who is her namesake, Scarlett has gorgeous green eyes, a beguiling¬†voice and plenty of¬†charm and determination¬†to spare. The world is her plaything, her oyster, waiting to be explored and conquered.

I get a great deal of enjoyment out of watching Scarlett at play and at rest; how she watches with keen, wide-eyed¬†interest the moving images on the flat screen, plans her assault on that rogue¬†bit of bungee cord¬†and ponders whether or not to cross the hallway (just in case a certain ill-tempered feline named ‚ÄúCallie‚ÄĚ is hiding somewhere nearby, plotting an attack . . .), sleeping peacefully, blissfully¬†with four fuzzy legs in the air.

BeFunky_PA039898scarlettvignette.jpg

It’s been a long time since we had a kitten here. I’d forgotten just how much fun they are. And how lacking in jadedness, ennui and…

View original post 179 more words

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

One response »

  1. I am sure that Scarlett was happy that there was an assortment of humans to choose as her pets wherever you were when she chose you. It’s amazing how many humans need animals to run their lives and show them what’s important, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

