OT: Pet Calendars to Printers. Do you want any?

Standard

Just to update those of you have followed along on my quest to support our Butler County Humane Society: the 2014 edition of our pet calendar has gone to the printers in Montgomery and is *supposed* to be back by the 25th, if not a couple of days earlier. Herbert, our president, asked me to count heads as far as the number of calendars needing shipping out to out-of-area and international animal lovers. Then I can get back to you with costs for shipping (and I will need to collect physical addresses).

The calendars are $10 each, NOT including shipping, and are chockfull of great animal images like these: (first two images by Angie K Long and third image by Sebastian Roslund) BeFunky_Tinytype_1seabee.jpg

BeFunky_P9209547editscarletttimeline.jpg

DSC_0239

So if you do want a calendar (s), please let me know, along with your country of origin and number of calendars required.  Once that is sorted out, payment can be made domestically by check or money order mailed to: Butler County Humane Society, P.O. Box 264, Greenville, AL 36037 or you can submit payments through the “Comic Con” button once again here at the blog and indicate it is for “calendar purchase.”

To be perfectly honest, our operational expenses are currently exceeding our organization’s income and it’s a struggle to pay our bills with the local vet, the Montgomery spay/neuter clinic and the veterinary supply company. Thankfully they are patient. We are pursuing grants and I am trying to organize two more fundraisers before the end of this year.  But the financial forecast is distinctly gloomy.

A few years ago we were lucky if we adopted out a dozen dogs a year, saved from being put to sleep at our city/county shelter. Today, in additional to local adoptions, our Second Chance Rescue Operation averages sending 40-50 animals a MONTH to new homes through partnerships with rescue groups across the eastern US. We are a small-town operation doing big things, worthwhile work that is making us part of a documentary being filmed right now!  But it all comes at a price. We need every dollar we can raise.

Thanks again, and if you can’t afford to support us through calendar purchases, please just grant us your positive vibes and prayers.

1380130_593915453998815_1036028281_nNothingbutkittycats on FB

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

4 responses »

  1. You know you can count on me for 1.   •*´¨`*•.¸¸.•* Debra´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.     The word phonetically doesn’t even start with an “f”. It’s stuff            like this that makes aliens fly straight past us.

    ________________________________

  2. Are my cats Ollie and my my little cat in there? If not, I don’t want the calendar, but I am offering to help subsidize postage costs. Let me know and I will send a check..

    • I don’t know what the final outcome of the calendar layout was, Perry, that was out of my busy hands. But I can relay that our ace pet calendar organizer, Annie C. , said every person who submitted photos *will* have at least one of theirs photos featured somewhere in the calendar, if not more than one. So at least one, if not both, of your kitties made the cut.

Leave a Reply

