Will ‘Fire’ Bring Sheeran an Oscar? From EW this week.

Standard

Ed Sheeran, the cherubic-faced, ginger-haired British folk/pop musician who has written an original song for the end credits of DoS , the haunting “I See Fire,” is quoted in the latest issue of Entertainment Weekly (Nov. 22, 2013) talking about the idea behind the tune.

“Peter told me you need the song to take the audience by the hand and lead them out of the movie and back into reality,” Sheeran says in a brief article written by Kyle Anderson. Sheeran first met PJ while he was touring New Zealand. According to the article, the young Grammy nominee has a double mission: “I have two big goals. One is to headline a stadium, and I want to win an Academy Award.  If I did get nominated I might go dressed up as a hobbit and not wear shoes.”

thCAHLPHLL

                                                                           Bing Images

Now, I certainly hope the song gets nominated anyway–I really like it–but I have to say this young man with his mop of curls and sweet face has “hobbit” written all over him, and what a bonus it would be to see him in full Bilbo regalia at the Oscars . . . wouldn’t you agree? 😉

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

22 responses »

  1. No way anything Hobbit will be nominated for an Oscar (apart from the categories that got nominated last year perhaps, but perhaps not because it’s nothing new). The song is okay to be played over the credits when everyone leaves the cinema. But no number one material like Skyfall.

  2. I love this song so much. I also like Ed Sheeran very much. I was a lot less enamoured with the version of Misty Mountains that was the credits song in AUJ.

    As for the Oscars, from what I understand 12 Years a Slave will be up there as a big contender for both Best Picture, Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor and possibly Best Director for Steve McQueen. Sadly it’s not out in the UK until January so I will have to wait a while longer to see it myself. I would, of course, love to see any of The Hobbit films achieve what LoTR did in terms of Oscars.

    • Frankly, I liked Richard and the rest of the dwarves’ version of MIsty Mountains a lot better. Just my opinion. I wasn’t familiar with Sheeran before but I really do like his music. !2 Years a Slave may fall victim to being such a heart-wrenching, gut-wrenching kind of experience that it will get passed over as Best Picture for lighter fare according to some industry insiders. There is a history of that with the Academy,we will see. I enjoyed Gravity, but honestly I do not see it as Best Picture material. Visually stunning, yes, but some problems with the story . . .

      • Definitely with you on the Misty Mountains song. Loved the dwarves version…think the tonality – deep and resonant – suited it best. I’ve not seen Gravity and don’t really want to. The fact that their hair was unaffected by the zero gravity annoyed me! I’ve been watching too many YT vids from the real astronauts on the ISS 🙂

        • Yes, the deepness and resonance and sort of mournfulness we got from the RA and the boys suited that particular song much better, I believe. It sent chills down my spine. My husband is fascinated by not just sci-fi, but outer space in general and we decided to give it a go (plus I got to see the DoS trailer, of course ;)). However, Benny does have a very strong math and science background and a Master’s in Operations Research—and how the story plays out just stretched scientific credibility pretty thin for him and, well, me, too! . . . I did think Sandra Bullock gave a strong performance, but—-again, not what it’s been hyped to be.

Leave a Reply

