What the world needs now is love. And forgiveness. And compassion.

Standard

Hanging on the wall in our bedroom is a wedding gift from the man who married us, who also happens to be my hubby’s former college roommate. It’s a portion of the “Love Chapter” from the New Testament, and remains one of my favorite scriptures.

I was raised in a small Southern Baptist church a few miles from my home and those Sunday School and VBS lessons and sermons have stayed with me.

I don’t attend church regularly these days (it’s a long story), but I still hold these words close to my heart and attempt to live by them. Oh yes, I fail miserably at times. But I try. I want to be a better person, a kinder, more compassionate, more patient, less judgmental person. I hope I never stop wanting this.

Certain things happening in the world, both my RL world and in the fandom, seem to be sorely testing me these days. This is a season in which unselfishness giving and love and peace are emphasized and celebrated, and yet—I see and hear a lot that is the opposite of that.

But I know I have to keep trying. In spite of my natural tendency to melancholy, it seems I am also essentially an optimist. And I won’t give in to all the dissent and division and discouraging attitudes I see around me. That means the bad guys win . . .

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.

If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

For we know in part and we prophesy in part,but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthian 13: 1-13 NIV

Be extra-kind and extra-forgiving. ~ Richard Armitage

1476398_10152144501258993_1010065259_n

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

12 responses »

  1. The best to you, Angie–I’m struggling this year with everyone’s religion of “busy” that seems to have taken over their lives to the point that they’ve forgotten the important things. It’s very disheartening.

    • I’ve struggled with so much negativity down here over that darned football game and all the people who proved to be bitter, sore losers and mean-spirited, malicious winners. Over a GAME. And then the various rifts in the fandom. People nit-picking IMHO. In a world where folks are still hungry and kids are still going around shooting other kids . . . and just too much emphasis put on the commercial aspects of holidays instead of on friendships and family and trying to help others in the ways we can. Today I just had to have a good cry. Thanks, Stephanie. It’s going to be a tough Christmas around here . . .

      • Here, too, I think, I’m still struggling with getting my gifts finished and where they’re supposed to be on time–today, I did something rather silly, but it helped me SO MUCH. I’d gotten a copy of one of the gorgeous new photos of Richard from LA. I had a really nice frame for it, and I nailed it onto the back of a bookcase facing my bed where I can see it when I’m lying down. Seeing that smile gives my heart a true lift when it can’t seem to lift itself.

        • Don’t tell anyone, but I was suffering a sadness bout the other day. I had to go see Mom and that wasn’t going to help. I found one of my CDs with love songs on it. I stuck a picture of Thorin in my sunvisor. I sang love songs to Thorin all the way to the nursing home. I felt a whole lot better by the time I got home and joined the human race. No one heard me sing off key, no one’s feelings got hurt, and RA got me through a couple of hours that otherwise would have been spent in tears.

    • Me too katie70! We learned it in school, which in my case was many, many years ago, and I can pretty well recite the whole thing, maybe with a few prompts here and there! Wonderful words. I think we all need to take to heart what Richard wrote in his message back on Christmas Eve of 2011, part of which you, Angie, quoted above. “Peace and goodwill (and I really mean that, be willingly good, extra good, extra peaceful and extra forgiving.)” Sadly I think we are in danger of losing sight of these beautiful sentiments.

  2. Thanks Angie! The negative vibe from several directions has been wearing on me too. Heaven knows, a lot of people have things in their lives that get them down, but it’s never been my experience that giving in to negativity, or worse, wallowing in it and cultivating it makes anything better. Anger and negativity only begets more of the same. I’m not generally a “Suzy Sunshine” but I’m working on putting out as much positive I can – maybe if we all pool are positive vibes we can turn the tide 🙂

    • Thanks, Obscura. 😀 You know, having FMS/CFS causes me enough pain and fatigue in the best of times. Stressing out–and all this has been stressful–just makes it all worse, and the fandom should be/was a place for me to retreat/refresh/relax myself and feel better. Lately, it hasn’t been that way a lot of the time. So I am cutting out some of the stressful people and places I’ve run across and sticking with what works for me. 😀 Trying to stay positive and upbeat and offer folks a little FUN along the way.

      • Yep, “karma”, “what goes around comes around,” – however you phrase it, positive energy is very often it’s own reward. Here’s to starting off 2014 (OMG!!) on a positive and FUN note 😀

  3. God, Arkie, that is SO something I would do–having been a singer in one of my younger incarnations and knowing about 1700 songs (mostly love songs), I can completely see myself doing that–even though my voice is no longer in any kind of performing shape.

Leave a Reply

