Polar Vortex? Pssshaw. Richard’s here to warm things up!

Standard

140127029Brrrrrrr! It’s 27 degrees F at 8:11 a.m., which isn’t that unheard of during the winter in Lower Alabama–except that we hit our high for the day a few hours ago and the temps keep continuing to drop, with a low of 10 frigid degrees and below-zero wind chill expected tonight. It’s colder here right now than it is in NYC. Yes, the Polar Vortex (cue ominous music) has arrived down south and is moving east. Another big mug of coffee, cuddly cats, cozy blankets are all called for. Hmmm, what else can I use to warm things up? Ah, I think I know . . . Happy Monday!BeFunky_801304059dd

BeFunky_f (2)ss

BeFunky_photomania_15260713.jpg

BeFunky_RobertAscroft-02sepia

bluesmileRA

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

8 responses »

  1. 27 F in the Southern U.S! Had to check the conversion table taped next to the thermostat, because it’s all centigrade here, and I like to know what the REAL temp. (i.e. Fahrenheit is 🙂 ) Just wrap up and keep self and animals warm! Lovely photos, thanks – feeling warmer now 🙂

    • And I can never remember the conversion formula! LOL We’ve been talking on FB and this probably the coldest it’s been down here since at least the mid-80s (when I was experiencing a hellaciously cold winter, my first, in South Dakota). And the temp has dropped two more degrees since I posted this. Those NW winds are pretty fierce, too. Glad I could help warm us both. 😉

  2. Our high tomorrow is supposed to be in the teens with -5 windchill factor–we have heating oil again, but I’ll be staring at my numerous photos of Richard to help kep me warm. Heck, it worked great the other day!

  3. Been watching your weather on BBC News it looks horrendous. I expect you have seen ours too. The storms have been awful all down the west side of our little island has been battered and some of our lovely coastline destroyed and seaside towns have been badly affected. We have flooding here in the Midlands and our local rivers are on Flood Alert, it’s very depressing thank goodness for RA. Went to see The Hobbit yesterday that sure is one very handsome badass dwarf lol.

  4. I think all you need to do is point that first photo out at the snow… that smile is hot enough to scorch through anything!

    Seriously though keep warm and safe, Angie! Give Scarlett an extra cuddle from me, please 🙂

  5. Conversion table? 32 degrees F is freezing = 0 degrees Centigrade. Easy, right? It’s friggin” cold here in the south!!! Our butts are frost bitten! It is not supposed to be cold in the south!!!!! That’s why we live in the south! If I wanted to be cold, I’d move in with Gigglepants! Or Perry! Or Serv! I’m carrying a cat under each arm. I put one snuggie on forwards and one on backwards trying to stay warm. I have a picture of Thorin scotch taped to my chest!

  6. Stay warm down there in LA. It’s a cold winter this year and it sounds like most of the US will see lower than normal temps. This is the weather I remember as a child, bone chillin cold. Are high was -15 F with a -33 F wind chill. No school on Monday and no school on Tuesday either.

Leave a Reply

