Porter & North: Soldier & Spy Saturday (NEW edits/old vids)

Standard

porterquestion
Two men, intelligent, resourceful and quite ruthless when necessary. Both willing to put their lives on the line to save others. Both knowing the last bullet may be the one they have to use on themselves, their mission fully deniable by the government they serve. Men who have endured deprivation, torture and humiliation, haunted by their pasts, determined to reclaim their honor, to do their duty. Two men, tough and yet capable of great tenderness, too. Although flawed and damaged, they are still good, decent men. True heroes we can respect and admire. Thank you, Lucas North and John Porter, and thank you, Richard Armitage, for so beautifully and memorably bringing these two complex characters to life for us.

locasenigma

johnporterstamp

lucaspast

4 responses »

  1. Portah 4evah! (lol) ‘Strike Back’ was the first RA encounter I had — the story was great and when RA was doing his thing? Rendered me speechless πŸ™‚ I’ve kind of backed into his other work and threaded my way through the various blogs in the fandom. Yours is a regular stop! Love it!

    • Thank you, MaryJane. πŸ˜€ Porter is a great and unforgettable character, that is for certain. Have fun exploring and discovering his many wonderful performances. And stop in any time! πŸ˜€

  2. Thank you for highlighting two of RA’s most memorable creations. There is so much negative thinking going on around his future career that I hesitate to look sometimes. I hope the negotiations he had to pull with HBO to get out of Strike Back have not damaged his chances in the US as the UK seems to have forgotten him (there was mention the other day of Keith Allen as the baddie in Robin Hood but RA never gets mentioned) The comment he made when he said ‘if The Hobbit is my last piece of work I will be okay with that’ still strikes horror in my feeble heart.
    Aside from RA, I hope you are feeling better, I may not always comment but I think about you a lot.

    • Those two wonderful characters certainly deserve to be remembered and spotlighted. I guess you can call me an ostrich because I don’t visit a lot of RA-related places right now—I have enough on my plate in RL that I don’t need to be brought down by further negativity and gloom and doom, you know? Of course, I am interested in what his future projects might be, whether it’s in movies, TV or stage work, but I am trying not to be overly anxious about it all. I simply CAN’T believe playing Thorin will be it for him; I am so glad he did have the opportunity to perform in the Pinter play and set that character aside for a while. Thank you for those kind thoughts; overall I feel more optimistic than I did, although it’s still very much a “one day at a time” thing. Benny has been sick and then we had that paralyzing ice and cold here which didn’t do a thing for my FMS. However, some people in the fandom have been very kind and supportive in various ways and THAT has meant a lot, believe me. πŸ˜€ *hugs*

Leave a Reply

