A spy for Sunday Brunch & a few thoughts . . . on the BBC’s insanity

Standard

lucascloseup

Lucas won in a three-way battle between himself, Thorin and Thornton to be spotlighted at my Facebook page today.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Richard-Armitage-Effect/204658943015664?ref=hl  I am posting Lucas pics there which differ from the ones I am posting here, so visit both and get a different and double dose of our favorite MI-5 agent. 😀

Last week Portah won over there by a handy margin–seems we are missing some of our old favorites, in particular our “action men” (sorry, JT, you’ve been coming up a bit short in the votes so far. Don’t give up–you’ll be in contention again with Thorin and a new contender next week!).  And after the pics–my fake letter to the BBC, expressing my not-fake feelings.

BeFunky_Gouache_1ohyeah

BeFunky_OrtonStyle_1ln

BeFunky_series735ffff

photomania_1678695lucas

photomania_1675069

photomania_1695062
pod2708lucassunrise
charmoffensive

lucashaunted

downfall-072
loiter-intent-Lucas

Dear BBC,
You had a great series with “Spooks.” I remember watching earlier eps of it as MI5 on US TV and really enjoying it. When Richard joined the cast for Series 7, I was thrilled. I recall watching it via YT as soon the eps were posted and being absolutely riveted. Nail-biting stuff. And I fell in love with Lucas North as soon as he stumbled out of that trunk, dark hair disheveled, dressed in that tatty jumper and track pants, determined to walk on his own two legs to freedom.

And then you gave us the ill-conceived character of Sarah Caulfield in Series 8. And saddled us with an actress whose bizarre accent (so different from her own pleasing natural voice) for the character was akin to nails scratching on chalkboard. An actress who seemed to have absolutely no chemistry with the delectable Mr. A, no matter how hard HE worked to manufacture it. You made Lucas look like a besotted numpty for ever falling for and/or trusting the Freezer Queen. Thanks a lot.

But that was minor compared to the horrendous character assassination you performed on Lucas North in series 9. Boy, did you jump the shark with that one. Our hero, flawed and damaged though he might be, turning out to actually be an amoral, mass-murdering creature named Bateman? Who murdered the “real” Lucas North (who looked more like Richard Hammond from “Top Gear” than he did Richard Armitage . . .)? Does MI-5 not have photos and get fingerprints of the people they hire?

The whole show turned into a turgid soap opera with me laughing at scenes that were supposed to be serious. Sometimes I had to laugh to keep from crying.

Was Richard’s performance great? Sure. I’d expect nothing less than for RA to rise to the challenge. But did I also feel at times even he was questioning whether anyone was buying what he was trying to sell? A certain strain I detected in those lovely eyes?

Sorry, Auntie Beeb, but you really dropped the ball when you let your new writers get away with that pile of steaming crap they served us. Maybe you were just sticking it to that uppity Armitage for going off to make big movie blockbusters. Anyway you look at it, I won’t be forgiving you soon for that.

Oh, and I hear you have a new Robin Hood production coming soon. With the Sheriff and Robin as one and the same, evil pawn of King John by day and daring crime fighter by night. *sigh* For the love of Pete . . .
Run out of ideas, have we?

May this version of Ye Olde Legende die a quick and likely well-deserved death.

Sincerely yours,
Ladywriter

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

5 responses »

  1. Can I sign your letter, Ladywriter? What is Auntie Beeb anyway? Welfare for incompetent writers?

    Still, I love the pictures of Lucas North, a real hero, my hero. Season 9 was nothing but an elaborate mess of lies.

  2. Of all the insane ideas they could have come up with–I had to read that article twice to make sure that I was seeing what I thought I was seeing. Have they gone completely hare-brained at the BBC? did they shoot their creative wad between “Call the Midwife”, “Bletchley Park”, and “Downton Abbey”? I hope to God they come to their senses and scrap this crazy scenario before they spend oodles of ill-conceived pounds on it! As far as the character assassination they performed on Lucas in “Spooks”–well, I’ve done more than a few tirades on that myself in various places. Well said, Angie!

  3. Oh my gosh! Fully co-signing this! The well has truly run dry @ the Beeb it seems. I’m re-watching the RA ‘Spooks’ seasons & it’s sooooo hard to see the crap arc for his character. I’ll have go rinse with a re-watching of ‘Strike Back’ Gimme Portah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

