The Accountant, the Kitten and the Sassy Ladywriter: Spring is Coming!

Standard

Scarlett Kitten was sitting in the open kitchen window at Ladywriter’s house, enjoying the balmy breeze periodically ruffling her silky fur. Something Mama called “Spring” was apparently in the air, and Scarlett had decided she liked it. The fresh air was wonderful after the long, cold, dreary winter.

scarlettwindowwatercolor.jpg

“Scarlett Kitten! How are you this mild February afternoon?” A cheery male voice exclaimed. With a chirrup of clear delight, Scarlett bounded over the sink and straight into Harry Kennedy’s jumper-clad arms,  where she quickly wrapped her little body around his sleeve to do a bit of grappling. Scarlett loved to sleeve-wrestle with her favorite menfolk, the taller and looser-limbed, the better.

In spite of the warmth of the day, Harry was not overheated in his cozy knitwear; such was one of the benefits of being a ChaRActer.  He looked as boyishly appealing and infinitely cuddly as ever, irresistible to cat or cat mother.

mysweetharry190

“Harry! So good to see you again!” Ladywriter’s face was wreathed in a smile at the sight of the Handsome Not-Really-Stranger. “I see Scarlett has already made herself at home on your arm . . . ”

and she’s feeling quite frisky, it would seem.” Rubbing the purring kitten, he tilted his head, his brow furrowing just a little as he studied Ladywriter. She’d apparently been to Town. She was wearing her red lippie and her favorite teal blouse, the one that made her eyes look almost-green.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“I do believe you are sporting a new hairstyle, LW. A change for Spring?”

Yep.” She gave a sassy toss to her head. “A little shorter, a different shade for the new season. Spring is coming–can’t you feel it?–and I am feeling, I don’t know—hopeful again.”

LW shrugged her shoulders and gave Harry a wry smile. “It’s weird. I’m still poor, I still hurt, I still have a heck of a time getting up and down stairs. But that awful sense of complete despair has left me, for now, at least. I am reading more, writing more, taking more photos and doing edits . . . having fun being creative. Getting to know some of the folks commenting on my FB page for the CReAtor. Getting outside and playing with the dogs and getting some fresh air.”

She paused and gave him a flirtatious sidelong glance.

“Laughing a lot with my sweet, loveable Harry-like Benny.”

1779963_10202991719891905_1219991172_n

Harry, cheeks flushing at the compliment, gave LW one of those dazzling grins that simply melted a girl of any age’s heart.

“That’s wonderful. Sounds like you have a bit of Spring Fever, Ladywriter.”

She nodded. “I think you’re right.  Let’s hope it lasts for a while, darling Harry. Like my addiction to your CReAtor and his ChaRActers, this ‘illness’ seems to do me good.”  LW sighed. “If only dear Richard knew just how much he has positively impacted me . . .”

835bf64887fe8a28ddfc4cfa3ca6732e

And here’s to the imminent arrival of a new season . . .

scarlettviewfinderspring.jpg
All photos taken and edited by yours truly. Vicar of Dibley screencap from Richard Armitage Net; my edit.

20 responses »

  1. Thanks, Helen! 😀 It’s lovely to feel better, it really is. And the hair is helping. Just wish I could do a blowout the way Kristi does–but then, that’s why SHE’S the hair pro, not me. 😉

  2. If this is a “boring accountant”, he can do my books anytime–we’ve actually had temperatures in the 50’s this week, it feels like a heat wave and all the snow is melting. YYYYYAAAAAAYYYYYYY!!!!!!

    • Yeah, I have to say the accountants I know aren’t much like Harry–more’s the pity. 😉 I know the weather has been up and down since you wrote this, but I hope you have had some more nice weather. We had another hard freeze here last night but warming up again for weekend.

  3. So glad the change of weather and a cute kitty (among other things) have lightened your mood., Love your hair, very sexy and blonde bombshelly. Is that a word?

Leave a Reply

