ICYMI Richard interviewed by Andrew Marr: “You Leave Drenched in Sweat”

Standard

10351657_738078942918619_56718572292402969_n
Screencap from interview courtesy of Fly High at Richard Armitage Friends Network on Facebook

A few of the quotes:

“They are living and breathing it with us . . . ” (referring to “The Crucible” audiences)

“I think Spooks may be the last of its kind . . . we shot on film. It was slightly ahead of its time.”

(When asked about the “romantic enthusiasm” often displayed by actors who had appeared in the LOTR/TH films)

“You feel as if you are making a home movie in Peter Jackson’s back garden. New Zealand is such a magical place.”

(When asked about doing future roles, including Shakespeare, on stage)

“If you are asking me that today, I’d say ‘enough already.’ (laughs) But no, there are other roles I would like to tackle . . . I didn’t know if I could do it before I started . . .”  And now he KNOWS. 😀  Even if he hasn’t actually read any of the reviews! Boy, will your cheeks flush red when you finally do, Mr. Humility!

And I am guessing that Mr. Marr hasn’t seen The Hobbit? Pssst, Richard plays a dwarf, Andrew, not a hobbit . . .  😉

Mr. A, when considering more stage roles—consider coming to the U.S. and your new “home city,” NYC. Because I might be able to beg, borrow and/or steal enough to make it to see you!

 

10460416_738078866251960_7662522877349232555_n

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

7 responses »

  1. He may not have read the reviews personally but he must be aware of them to a certain extent. For example he can’t have missed that poster at the theatre door that displays the plethora of 5 stars from Lord knows how many reviews…Plus he referred to the Daily Mail review in one of the previews…(when he said he was surprised to learn from the DM that he’s been away from stage for 13 years- he thought it was much less!). I’m sure you can’t avoid the feedback a 100 %..some of it must filter through agent and colleagues and friends etc.

    • I am sure he is also feeling the love of the audiences each night and getting a certain degree of feedback (If not the words of professional critics) through their enthusiasm for the production. And yes, how can you miss that poster with all the five star reviews? I am sure he is aware it’s very well-received, including his own performance, even if he doesn’t know all the particulars. That will be the icing on the cake for him when he does read them!

Leave a Reply

