Anticipation, anticipation, is making me wait . . . RA to take on turtles and a dame

Standard

Normally, I get sick of seeing the same commercials repeatedly and love being able to skip them altogether when I DVR stuff. Oddly enough, I have not tired of the barrage of different adverts on my TV for “Into the Storm.” I just don’t know exactly when I will be seeing the film . . . as our local multiplex hasn’t changed the listing of movies yet. Tomorrow, surely, they will?

Me: “Oh my gosh Benny, what if, what if they don’t have ‘Into the Storm’ here in Greenville?”

Benny: “I can’t imagine they wouldn’t–I mean, it’s not as if there are a whole bunch of movies coming out, or very many out that should be sticking around . . .”

Me: “Yeah, that’s true . . .”

Still, I am on edge about The Edge (the name of our theatre).
I don’t want to have to drive 40 or 50 miles to see wet Richard, although I will if it comes to that (actually, Benny will. My wrist gets aggravated driving more than 15 miles or so).

Our theatre runs mostly the big films. I know ITS is, as Richard said, a “small movie” compared to the TH trilogy and the current box office champ, “Guardians of the Galaxy.”  A sort of David going up against Goliath.

 

RAdonniesafe

“Into the Storm” will open Friday against yet another comic book-based movie, “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” and “The Hundred Foot Journey,” which stars the sublime Helen Mirren and looks like something I would enjoy seeing (gonna pass on the martial arts-trained dudes in shells).

173992169909

So I wait and anticipate when the movie list will be updated and I can know if I will be seeing ITS in my hometown this weekend–or if we will have to make plans to go to Montgomery or Prattville. Either way, one way or another, I am going into that storm with Rich and Sarah and Max and Nathan this weekend . . . and do my small part in boosting its box office receipts. It’s the least I can do for an actor who is, as Sarah described him, a joy.
tumblr_n9w2edsgdh1sdnh2io1_500

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

4 responses »

  1. I had a similar issue; I don’t live in an area that approaches the ruralness of yours; and I’m annoyed enough to plan to blog about it when I get a chance. Why can’t these theaters get their acts together?

    • I really wish they would. It’s frustrating, because there is also an event I could probably cover for the newspaper and make a few bucks from, but will I need to go to Montgomery instead if I want to see the film? Benny has limited free time with the editing he’s doing at night and on weekends . . . yep, frustrating.

      • I remember when the TMNT were a *thing* but subsequent attempts to revive their careers haven’t turned out well. I don’t think that the Heroes on the Half-shell translate well to live (sort-of) action but who knows what the theatre owners will choose? ITS has ‘whole family’ appeal, but TMNT is (I guess) sort of kids and their nostalgic parents. Helen Mirren’s movie sounds like a chick flick for educated grownups, which might not seem like the biggest draw. Is your local theater a multi-plex?

        • Yes, it is an eight-screen theatre—and sometimes, as is the case currently, they have more than eight films showing (ten as of yesterday). So really, surely, they will show it? Some of the films currently showing have been out for a while. I have noticed a lot of tie-in commercials for TMNT definitely aimed at kids and I can see a certain nostalgia appeal for some adults, but certainly agree ITS has broader appeal . . . Fingers crossed!!

Leave a Reply

