Daily Archives: August 8, 2014

Continuing my Carly Simon homage: I haven’t got time for the pain

Standard

First there was my “Anticipation” as the local theatre was “making me wait, keeping me wa-a-waiting . . .”

Waiting, of course, to find out if and when “Into the Storm” would be gracing the screens of the nearest multiplex.

Because assuming it would, would make an “ass” out of me, right?  Never assume anything.

Well, after being more or less bedridden for close to 24 hours (chalk it up to FMS, sciatica, severe muscle spasms in my back and ulnar nerve pain in the wrist), I picked up my almost-dead cordless phone noon-ish today and once again punched in the numbers for the theater’s hotline.  And what do you know . . . the first thing announced by the recorded voice THIS time was “For Into the Storm, press 1 . . .” I gave an inner *squee* and hastily hit that button. I heard the show times just before the phone gave up the ghost and insisted it be charged for seven hours.

So, you see, I haven’t got time for the pain–not since RA arrived in town in the guise of Gary Morris. Oh, I still hurt, but I’m definitely better than early this morning, and even more so, now that I know I have this guy to look forward to seeing tomorrow:

 

dreamskisses edit
“Haven’t got time for the pain, haven’t got room for the pain, haven’t the need for the pain, not since I met you . . .” Sing it, Carly!

 

Well-Rounded – The Crucible

Standard
Well-Rounded – The Crucible

Guytly’s very well-rounded review (from lighting to performances) of The Crucible–thanks for sharing!

Guylty Pleasure

Notes“Stop thinking and just write”, I kept telling myself and yet my review of the whole Crucible experience was not coming. It was sitting shapelessly somewhere between my guts and my heart, possibly also stuck sideways in my throat. A strange kind of reluctance catches hold of me every time I have been subjected to one of those close(r) encounters of the fangirling kind and I need to recount the event for my blog. I am rarely ever speechless, but it seemed like that with my trip to London to see The Crucible live on stage. And not for the awesome acting and impressive staging of the play. But possibly more for the inner condition of the fangirl. By committing the experience to paper/screen, the experience is anchored as an event of the past. And how nice would it be to hold on to the present and presence of the…

View original post 1,903 more words

New Experimental Drama Takes West End by Storm – “The Stage Door”

Standard
New Experimental Drama Takes West End by Storm – “The Stage Door”

You gotta read it. And her post that’s a review. If I can get this darned reblog to work. It’s been that kind of a week.

Guylty Pleasure

Review: “The Stage Door”

New Experimental Drama Takes West End by Storm

by Guylty Pleasure

Experimental drama has the habit of being, well, experimental. It is hard to tell nowadays where reality starts and fiction begins. A new experimental drama that is mid-way through its eleven week-run in London’s West End is braving new ways in bringing the reality of modern life to the audience. Never-seen-before stage management, audience involvement and improvisation methods are making this innovative new work the must-see performance of the season. And best of all – it’s unticketed and free in.

The Stage Door

Devised and staged by impressive director/writer/lead actor Richard Armitage, the play opens to a street scene on a balmy summer evening in central London. The seemingly calm and peaceful scene is cosily illuminated by street lights, accentuated with the warm glow of the orange “stage door” orb. Sparsely furnished with the occasional car and a…

View original post 639 more words