A troll by any other name . . . or, why do YOU care enough to comment?

Standard

 

A comment I found in moderation tonight from a long-ago birthday post for RA.  Posted by a “Jane”  . . . no matter what name these trolls go by, it remains the same old mean-spirited, sophomoric attack on what was meant to be a respectful, sincere post about Margaret Armitage and her son on the occasion of his birthday:

“OMG!. You have serious problems if you actually have the time or inclination to write such a letter about two people you never met. Do you think either of them care what you think? Do you not realise that the legion of bored housewives are actually hurting his career hence his failure in hollywood.
It is totally inappropiate for any group of women to make comments about an actor and his relationship with his mother.
It is weird and creepy – GET A LIFE!!!
PS. Richard is not middle aged at 44.”

 Hmmmm . . . maybe Troll Jane needs to “get a life!!!” and stop bullying others online.  Unhappy, bitter souls often want to take others down with them.

ff5d954b1d656c00508b2cd0fe03245e

e17fd7a5dadcf9661de7967e36384454febe0ac49c5f8f175b2dc6e3988082eb

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

22 responses »

  1. Ah, trolls and hackers…if only they would use their powers for good, imagine what they might do! (I especially like the added touch of slightly off age…nothing better than a troll who didn’t do the homework ;). )

    • Yeah, if you are going to come here and disparage me (and all the “bored housewives” HA!) at least get your facts straight! I was waiting for one of you to point out that little gaffe.

  2. Some people must be bored as to have nothing better to do than to hurt others. I am with Obscura they also need to do their homework.

    • To me, it’s really more adventurous and brave and satisfying to pursue goodness and kindness and generosity. Lazy, narrow-minded people choose the path of hurting and hating. And they don’t bother with their homework. If they did, they would not only know RA’s actual age, they would know you can’t fit his fandom then or now into the box of “bored housewives.” (I guess technically I am a housewife, but I am not bored or stupid or “creepy” . . . )

      • Amen to that! I have reason to know that the fandom spans ages from teens to 80s, multiple genders, multiple languages, and multiple continents. We number an abnormal percentage of intelligent people, with and without degrees, many in teaching, nursing, writing, and the arts. This troll sounds like a nasty idiot in comparison.

    • Zeesmuse, welcome and as for that comment (which is really what rankled me more than anything, I think)–go figure. It’s hardly as if Richard has been labeled box office poison or something. On what is she basing this viewpoint?

      • I think she is basing this comment on the fact that he doesn’t have a bunch of lame ‘Hollywood’ movies on his CV. I guess being chosen to play Thorin in The Hobbit Trilogy is failure. And a thriving career before that. There is more to the world than Hollywood.

        • I certainly don’t see Richard as a failure in Hollywood or anywhere else. He’s been working steadily in his chosen profession for more than a decade, given a lot of great performances for television, the big screen and now, wowed critics and audiences alike on the London stage this summer. Not to mention all the audio books and voice-over narrations. Some people apparently don’t see films made outside of the Hollywood studio system i.e., TH trilogy, as part of Hollywood. And yet, PJ’s films have most definitely helped fill the coffers of Warner Brothers—still a Hollywood studio as far as I know.

          • I complete agree. He has done great characters over the years in many formats. I think that is pretty successful myself. I think he has had time to hone and refine his craft and is going to be a great actor…not just a ‘movie star’.

            • There are movie stars who are more “personalities” than they are really good actors. They may catch the public’s imagination for a time, but then when their time has passed, they often struggle and seek solace in unhealthy habits. Richard it so talented and so versatile and well grounded, I just don’t see that happening to him, you know?

              I was watching an old movie (I should have a blog just on old movies, because I adore them) with Benny this weekend, “The Glass Key,” and it starred Alan Ladd, who was a huge star back in the 40s and into the 50s before his popularity really waned. And while I enjoyed this film noir, Ladd basically wore the same expression throughout the entire movie. Ladd didn’t rate himself very highly as an actor and described himself as having “the face of an aging choirboy and the body of an undernourished featherweight” (he was only 5’ 4” or 5’ 5”). He said he couldn’t understand the appeal of his screen presence. He died young from an overdose and probable suicide (he shot himself a couple of years before he died, but survived the injury).

  3. It wasn’t me! LOL
    Seriously, keyboard warriors who spread misery are to be pitied.I mean, imagine — (s)he has to wake up every morning and look in the mirror and still be him/herself. What a drag.
    You, on the other hand, get to be You!
    Rock on, Sister-Friend!

    • Awww, I never ever thought it was you (or our other Jane who regularly comments here). You know, I may not always be thrilled with what I see on the outside these days when I look in that mirror—but at least I feel as if the inner me is on the right track and trying to fight the good fight.

    • You know, I don’t think I would even have bothered to post this comment, and just deleted it, except that it’s been a hard day for me. It was my late father’s birthday and I am missing him like crazy, and I’ve also been experiencing more pain in my confounded wrist (I get a wrist-specific MRI tomorrow). So I haven’t felt great for various reasons, and the fandom is a place I turn to in order to lift sagging spirits, you know? Not for the opposite. Joy vampires like this person—I ain’t got time for that sh*t.

      • I read your piece about your dad yesterday and it brought tears to my eyes. I was thinking of my own pa who died at the tragically young age of 67. We should still have him with us now but it was not to be. I’m sorry you’ve had a low day and hope tomorrow brings some answers for you.

        I make no apologies for saying I’m in this fandom for the fun. My life is blessed but I work in a profession where I come face to face with terrible suffering every day and the RA Army is my self care (although if anyone asks, it’s yoga!) if it was snarky and mean, I’d be out of here.

        • Thank you, Bolly. *hugs* Yes, 67 is far too young to pass away. I kept both of my parents into their 80s—Daddy was 82 and Mama, 84, when they died– and it was still too soon. I am so ready to get a firm diagnosis on my wrist and if it is the ligaments as Chavan believes, let’s get it surgically repaired. I don’t want to have to wear a brace the rest of my life. Re the fandom vs. real life, we all need a release valve of some kind. I do a lot with the humane society and seeing the inhumanity of some in the way they treat animals really can be troubling. Having a chronic illness is no picnic either, so, yes, I want to have a place where I can be silly and creative and enjoy myself and forget my troubles and woes for a while. Otherwise—there’s no reason for me to stay.

  4. This person needs to buy a mirror. “Weird and creepy” is how most of us would describe going to the blog of someone you don’t know to ruin what is intended to be a happy post with ill-informed bitchery.

Leave a Reply

