Dodgy ear, Doctor Who and–Robin Hood? (Where’s Sir GUY??)

Standard

Ever had an outer ear infection, also known as swimmer’s ear?

If not, count your blessings.  Boys and girls, it ain’t no fun.

Thank goodness for the Saturday morning clinic hours in town. After two miserable nights and a never-ending day, I was actually looking forward to another medical appointment. Considering I’ve seen four different doctors in two cities plus all the dratted tests and bloody co-pays that accompany them over the last few weeks, I was obviously desperate.

I got to see a doc, who took one good look inside my swollen left ear with the otoscope and prescribed some antibiotic drops. The doctor appeared to be all of 14, but I was charmed by his lilting accent (Caribbean, I think) and lovely manners. And the drops have already given me a little relief. Hooray!

Because the pain and swelling extend down into my jaw and teeth,  eating isn’t easy. Banana for breakfast, cheese puffs (cheese-flavored air) for lunch, and grits and soft scrambled eggs for supper, courtesy of my lovely husband.  He really IS lovely, with his tousled curls (in need of a haircut again) and those kind blue eyes. I am a sucker for a tall man with kind eyes, a deep voice and a great head of hair.

I’ve slept a little, off and on, perused Pinterest (so many intriguing images and helpful hints, and it doesn’t overtax my addled brain) and now I am watching Doctor Who, with Clara and the Doctor in–well, what do you know?–Sherwood Forest!

It’s all quite good fun. Love it when the Doctor ends up in a highly competitive archery contest with Robin and finally (“Oh, this is getting SILLY!”) blasts the target with his sonic screwdriver and blows it to Kingdom Come.  And later DW says, “Oh SHUT it, Hoodie.” How many times did I not want to tell the one in the BBC 2006 version to do the same . . . *evil little laugh*

If only this chap would make an appearance. *sigh*

5_092

BeFunky_pod1803.jpg

1dvd2
1promo11 (2)sirugy

Yes, Sir Guy, you certainly DO. (Would love to see RA make a guest appearance on Doctor Who . . . if I can’t have him as the Doctor himself, of course.)

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

11 responses »

  1. Oy, you have really been through it, girl! 😦 I hope you keep improving quickly!!

    I keep hearing rumors about Armitage doing something on Doctor Who, maybe it is just wishful thinking or maybe there is something to it. I hope so, even though I’ve never watched Doctor Who it sounds fun to me. (Shoot, I’d be thrilled to watch RA in an Alpo commercial 🙂

    Rest well!

    • I think this is the worst earache I have ever had in my life, to be honest. I’ve had middle and inner ear infections before, but this trumps those. Benny just put in the drops for me and I took a pain pill, so I hope it all kicks in. The prognosis is good with these drops, so fingers crossed. You know, Sir Peter is a big Doctor Who fan, and how cool would it be for RA to guest in an ep directed by PJ? I really enjoy the show. I started watching during the David Tennant era, and I think I’ve seen all the eps in re-runs now. I like what each actor brings to the role.

  2. I am glad that I was not the only one to think that it would be nice to see “our” Sir Guy in Dr. Who.

    I only got to see the last half of Dr. Who. Mr. 70 got home at the start and since he was 2 hours late from work and I was starting to worry I decided that I could catch it at 11:00 pm. After all he didn’t get home to have lunch either. I wanted to talk with Mr. 70 before his bedtime.

    Ok time to watch the Dr.

    • Katie, I understand about wanting to have some face time with your OH. I watched DW here in my crash pad but I went and spent some time with Benny before he went to bed. I hope you enjoyed it!

  3. Something to cheer you up Angie, last night they filmed the Crucible and it’ll be available to download and also at cinemas – digital theatre company was called in and did the 2nd performance saturday night! Get well soon!

    • Yes, FF, I did know about that and it has been a bright spot in the last few days. My husband said they should have called in Pecan Ridge Productions (our company)—all they would have had to do was make arrangements to rush through new passports and pay to fly us and our equipment over from the US, put us up in a hotel . . . we would have done the rest for free.

    • Feline Female, that’s excellent news! Were you there? Wondering about the energy level with it being 2nd perf of the day….. I wonder if they will also record another this week before it’s over. What do you think, Angie? (Yes, they did miss an opportunity with Pecan Ridge 🙂

      • I don’t know—we shoot stage performances on more than one night quite frequently and edit the best of the best together, but these are dance performances/musical revues, not sure if they would go that route with a play like The Crucible. They might shoot a second performance and decide which is the best of the two. Listen, I will be happy with whatever they give us, because it’s more than I had hopes for!!

Leave a Reply

