And I shall be an old(ish) woman and wear (a) purple (cast) . . .

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I went to the humane society meeting today and then to get the results of my MRI. And guess what? I got myself this purty purple cast. Just screams “Par-tay,” doesn’t it?

But wait, there’s more! Things were slightly chaotic at the clinic this afternoon–they were down one nurse, and the sink in the cast room suddenly erupted into a geyser–so there seems to have been a miscommunication before the nurse brought all the supplies to my room to fix me up. My wrist cast is going to turn into an over-the-elbow cast tomorrow (and possibly be completely redone to put everything in a different position).

Needless to say, my MRI showed issues–lots of inflammation in my wrist and hand, with torn ligaments causing said swelling. Thus the need for the cast (to wear a month). After that. I will likely need an injection in my wrist, and if this doesn’t do the trick, there’s arthroscopy in my future.

I am oddly OK with all this. I have been experiencing burning, stabbing pain and swelling for three to four months, limiting types and duration of activities; it’s about dang time to actually treat the problem.

And maybe I am still happy knowing that later this year I should have the chance to actually see “The Crucible”–I haven’t mentioned that yet here, but yes, very happy and excited to know the rest of us have a chance to experience RA’s great performance. I know it’s not going to be the same as being there live, but listen, I will take what I can get!

Once I get that longer cast on, not sure how much posting I will be able to do, so doing as much as I can tonight. Stay well, be happy and if you get stuck with the first cast of your life–make it colorful! 😉

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

27 responses »

    • Yep, I do appreciate there was no dilly-dallying around—let’s get it done today! I’ve never had a cast before so it is an adjustment. I love that you can get colors nowadays. If only Rich could sign it with his nice metallic pen . . .

  1. It is a beautiful cast 🙂 And I agree, it’s “about dang time” to put this bad puppy to bed!! I hope every step along the way makes a huge difference for you.
    I’m disturbed, however, about this “not posting much with the larger cast” 😦 …. wouldn’t Benny take some dictation? This is pretty important …. 🙂

      • I was just kidding around, picturing your husband typing it in for you, ha! You have to take care of yourself, I know that’s the main thing, hugs 🙂

  2. That’s one pretty cast, lol. It must be a bit comforting to finally have a diagnosis and know that potentially things can be set right again, soon hopefully…or as close to right as possible.

  3. I like purple. It is my favourite colour 😉
    Though I would rather like a more pleasurable way for you to get something in purple.
    I hope all heals well and wish you all the best and your hand/arm a fast recovery!
    Best wishes and good luck !

  4. So glad to hear that there is now a course of action in place. A purple course of action is even better! Take care, sending you lots of healing vibes. xx

  5. Very stylish! Not that I would expect anything less from you Angie.

    Now you do realise you won’t be able to do any housework, or washing, or cooking with that cast on don’t you? In fact you won’t be able to do anything tedious at all. So that should leave you with time for doing the things you do enjoy, like cuddling kittens, pinning pretty pictures and admiring TDH men.

    Seriously though, I’m glad you are finally getting some treatment and hope it goes well.

  6. I almost feel bad about commenting now – in case you feel obliged to use your fingers and type :-D. But want to wish you speedy recovery now that you have finally been given a cast that will help your wrist get its rest. Purple is lovely – your choice, btw? Did the have any other colour available?

          • I have a cast on my wrist.When I broke my wrist they gave me a heavy plaster and a sling.After 4 weeks with the plaster the doctor cut it off and put a different cast on my wrist.I went with a light green cast.Did your doctor cut the first cast and then put you a different cast?Best wishes and take care.

Leave a Reply

