Fedoralady returns to ask a favor & express loads of thanks

Standard

I confess to being behind on almost all things Armitage. The numerous articles and interviews that have popped up recently have for the most point remained unread or watched by me. For one thing, I have been battling borderline pleurisy for a few weeks, along with a cracked rib. Summoning up the energy and tamping down the pain enough to do much beyond the absolutely necessary was eluding me for a while (I have enjoyed looking at the pretty pictures of our fella, though, and sharing some of those over at FB and Pinterest. Doesn’t require much effort)

 

885af8d45a1ab202109eaee7d3b2352c

Then there’s the fact I wanted to avoid any additional spoilers before seeing the final Hobbit film (which should happen tomorrow night. Both excited and apprehensive. Gotta remember the tissues).

10846344_688807404570562_1599320456677491703_n

 

Add in the fact we’ve been busy again with some Pecan Ridge Production projects and newspaper assignments for me (Hooray! Money!), and, well, I just didn’t feel a sense of urgency about it all as I have in the past.

 

c8127968079a6deea834b3994205b441

What I have been experiencing is—the blessings of the season. That sense of wonderment and joy that I always used to have this time of year had slowly seemed to erode over the past decade-plus with the loss of loved ones, lack of employment and chronic health struggles. Last year, when I couldn’t see or be with any of my family around the holidays, I pretty much hit rock bottom.  I tried to put on a good face,  but Christmas just wasn’t Christmas for me.

I still have health issues. Money is still very tight. Yet I can say it is well with my soul.  I have been touched by the kindness and generosity of people who have never met me and probably never will, who still reached out to help me with kind and encouraging words, prayers and positive thoughts and even monetary gifts. One of those gifts was enough to allow us to rent reliable transportation to travel this weekend to Foley/Orange Beach to share a family Christmas again. I can’t express just how much I am looking forward to seeing them all.

BeFunky_null_3saradebangie.jpg
A photo of me and my two sisters at our house–Christmas 1998, I do believe.

And now I want to ask a favor of you all.  This year we once again shot our area arts council’s holiday show, “Christmas at the Ritz.” Some of the Ritz Players, including my former editor Kevin Pearcey and a young college student, Christina Rodgers (who both soloed on this number) performed “Seasons of Love” from “Rent.” I love this song and I so appreciate these people and their willingness to juggle jobs and school and family and other RL Obligations to perform for our community and get us into the holiday spirit.

Those feelings of partiality aside, they did a bang-up job. Please give it a watch and if you like it, “like” it at YT, even leave a comment. I would be greatly appreciative, as would they.

 

I will report back on my thoughts about the film, but it may be next week as we are heading out of town Friday for the weekend. I have family memories to make . 😀  So Merry Everything and Happy Always to you and yours!

And again–many, many thinks!

 

hohohorichard

 

 

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

16 responses »

  1. I hope you get to feeling better soon. I am also hoping for a better Christmas this year, the cloud of my dad’s death hung over me last year, it was just to soon afterwards. I am also out of the loop on the Richard front, to busy. Plus I don’t want to know what happens in the movie till I see it on Friday with the boys.

    • Thank you, Katie, I certainly hope it will be a better one for you and your family. It seems once you lose a loved one close to the holidays, it casts a pall over the season. A dear friend of ours lost her son in a car accident shortly before Christmas one year, and they immediately took down their decorations. It was a while before they felt like doing any celebrating again. He was only 16. :/ I am feeling better, it has just been such a slow process. I had to go back to the doctor’s office for stronger versions of the steroids and antibiotics I was taking. Wonder drugs they are, but also with unpleasant side effects. But they have finally started kicking in, methinks. Hope you and your boys enjoy the film!!

  2. Angie, I’m so sorry that you’ve been feeling poorly and I’m so glad that you seem to have turned a corner both healthwise — the pleurisy sounds horrific — and financially. Yay for work! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas down by the shore. I haven’t seen the film either, though I will go tomorrow, but I understand exactly what you mean about not feeling the urgency to read and see everything that’s out there — where in the past I would have. Interesting. Professionally, I’ll admit, I have found it interesting to see where Warner’s placed all of the actors and PJ, and where they were sent all across the planet — kind of like a giant 3D Excel spreadsheet. Rather fascinating. I hope you have a wonderful, calm, peaceful, and very joyous Christmas, New Year, and holiday. Big hugs!

  3. I know it’s been a horrific struggle this year, and heaven knows, I wish you better quickly and completely. I’m glad the stronger medicines are helping, even though the side effects are no fun at all.. Sending healing thoughts as Lucky sends remote “feline healing.”

    I’m glad you’ll be getting to see the film, but I also understand the lack of urgency. I will have to wait for the DVD, it seems, and there’s too much else that needs attention before then.

    Congratulations on filming “Christmas at the Ritz”! It looks like a great show.

    May your Christmas with family be all that you could wish and more. I’ll be thinking of you. ❤

    • Thank you, Leigh, we’ve already gotten an enthusiastic thumbs up from one of the Ritz Players on the DVD.
      And we finally saw the film tonight. A very merry Christmas to you and Lucky! ❤

  4. Wonderful news that you’ll be spending Christmas with your family. Wishing you a happy time and speedy recovery Angie ( really wondered if what I sent you reached you safely).
    Thrilled to bits to hear that R.A. will be filming on the west coast of Ireland from April next year (‘cos that’s where WE live!) and also has another ‘secret ‘ project up his sleeve in Ireland. When we talked to him at the stage door of the Crucible, I gave him and Irish tin whistle ‘to play in the dressing room and drive everyone mad!’ and a letter telling him to come to the S.W Ireland with its mountains lakes and forests. And he IS! Seems the magic pipe worked!!

    • Yes, it went a circuitous route but the post office ended up sending it to my husband’s place of work and he delivered it to me. It’s a small world around here. 😀 I am sure you are very excited about RA filming in your area. I still dream of him coming to this part of the US to shoot something. It would likely be the only way I might get to see him in the flesh. Glad your magic worked! 😀

Leave a Reply

