Catching up on things and choosing one’s soul. Fedoralady’s back! (with RA, too)

Standard

After this long period of silence from me here at the blog (largely due to constant outage issues with our internet which seem to be resolved for now, *fervently crossing fingers* not to mention a serious case of the winter blaahs), here I am!

 

8bbf660788c85c0584c79319afcde2d2I used to be called the “Hat Lady “around town. I hope to be a lady worth knowing . . . hat or no hat.

Things finally seem to be looking up. I have been asked back as a regular contributor (as in once or twice a week, instead of once or twice a month, if that) at The Greenville Advocate . I will also assist with copyediting and writing for the quarterly “Camellia” Magazine. Tracy wants to see my byline more often, and judging by the response I got when I posted about it on FB, quite a few others do, too. I won’t get rich–that wasn’t happening when I worked full-time–but it will be nice to have more of a regular income to look forward to.  And so far this year, I haven’t had to go back to the doctor. Still paying off bills from last year, so this is good!

 

We did a community service video for Healthy Kids last month, tailoring it to their “Superheroes Unite” theme for the year. We don’t charge for this kind of project, but that doesn’t mean we don’t work just as hard to make it good. Lisa, the director for the group, was thrilled with the results, especially since we didn’t get a huge amount of advance notice on the project (a week and half, roughly).

 

 

A YT version should soon be up so everyone who didn’t attend the HK sponsorship luncheon can also enjoy and learn from it. Sometimes, (moving) pictures and captions, along with some brief interviews and voice-overs, are worth a thousand words! 😀 And I think it will be good advertising for our video production company. I am also proud of the fact I shot and edited ALL the footage for each segment of this 10-minute video, except for the superhero fx integrated into it by Benny *giving myself a little pat on the back.*

 

b941aaa9c66175e8256357a8493a7494

Spring is in the air here–although it can’t quite make up its mind whether to stay yet. I feel as if I need to come out of hibernation, shake off my winter malaise, and–write. Create.  Connect. Keep choosing my soul. And try not to beat up on myself quite so often. I ran across some posts on Pinterest that spoke to me . . . maybe to you, too.

 

1926666_10205817518215097_7751679163829318396_n

04bb5f4a9cbf78a0d4d40ee41f4fc5d7

c7b5d227680c88f887cec1afd97d8c08

And lest you think this will be an RA-less post, au contraire, mes amies! Scroll on, my darlings, scroll on!

coffeeracollagedit

burlybeardcollageedit

dreamsRAcollage.jpg

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

30 responses »

  1. Thank you so much, Stephanie, that is good to know. We were using a Wi-Fi hotspot part of the time and it wouldn’t let me access a lot of stuff online for some reason ?? But at least I did have my email, FB and Pinterest. Glad Centurylink finally replaced whatever needed replacing out there. It’s been very frustrating.

  2. So good to hear from you! I was just thinking that it had been a really long time, so I’m extra happy to hear that things are leaning to the positive!

  3. Good to see you back and that things are looking up for you. Love the picture of the flowers, wanting spring here. I really enjoyed the saying about soul. Take Care!

    • Thank you, Katie. I think everyone is ready for spring this year. We haven’t had the snow and ice, but lots of damp,dreary days and cold rain that chills you to the bone. It’s been great to get a little sunshine and warmer temps without the rain the last couple of days. It won’t last, but it’s been nice. 😉 Glad you liked that passage about soul, too. It really spoke to me.

  4. Missed you. So glad things are looking up for you and working out. It gives you some hope. And hey,its’ nearly Spring! It’s rained and sleeted, hailed and snowed here for the past 3 months in li’ l old Ireland. But the first daffodils are out. And we’ve got all the R.A things to look forward to. But where is ‘Urban and the shed crew? It was rumoured to be entered for the Cannes film festival but absolutely no word yet!

    • thanks. FF, yes, just having a few positive things, some successes along the way, certainly help one’s psyche. We have some green grass sprouting and the daffodils have been blooming here, too. The weather keeps teasing us, warming up and then turning cold again. March is so mercurial here. As for Urban, I don’t know what’s happening with it. I finally got around to reading the book and I loved it–it’s painful at times, to think of how society really fails its most vulnerable all too often–but Bernard writes with such humanity and humor that it carries you through. >3

      • I loved the book although the bad language is awful but it had some such funny moments in it that I laughed out loud. And the thought of R.A as Bernard(Chop) bouncing up and down on that bouncy castle fighting off the police whilst high on drink and drugs is hillarious, as is what happened to his yellow van beneath the low bridge!

  5. Hi Angie, lovely to see you back and I’m so pleased things are looking up for you 🙂

    As always, thanks for the wonderful pics too. I love your edits 😉

  6. Woo-hoo! Fedoralady’s back in town!!

    So, so glad you’re back and in fighting form – strength to your arm (literally) with the writing and everything else.

    You came to mind recently, given that you’re such a dog-lover. We finally, after many years of talking, decided to adopt a dog. So did we get the Staffie that I longed for? or the smaller, fluffier canine that Husband fancied to keep him company? or even the retired greyhound that Daugher favoured? Oh no. Enter the biggest Dobermann in creation! Thought that might make you smile.

    Missed you…

    • Yes, although I take a lickin’ at times, I am still tickin’! So glad you have a dog. I sometimes think the animals pick us as much as we pick the animals! That Dobie was obviously meant for your family. ❤ I wish you years of fun, unconditional love and happy companionship together. 😀

    • Thank you, Mary! Funny, we used to sing that song in elementary music class–“Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket, save it for a rainy day, catch a falling star and put it in your pocket, never let it fade away . . .” RA can fall my way any time he wishes. 😉 I keep hoping he will have a film or TV project that films in my part of the country. Andrew Lincoln and Lee Pace film their respective TV series next door in Georgia. Several films have been shot down in the Mobile area–they are looking for extras now for an upcoming Bruce Willis film. A girl can always hope . . .

  7. Hi Angie ❤ So wonderful to hear from you again! and that things are looking up 🙂 And love all the pics, both RA & non!

    • Thank you, SH. Glad to be able to share some good news for a change. 😀 Happy you enjoyed the edits and the other images. I confess I ❤ Pinterest–it's like my grown-up version of the World Book Encyclopedia in some ways. 😉

      • My sis loves Pinterest too 🙂 – must confess I’m afraid to start exploring it much, I have too many obsessions now! 😀

    • Hi, Terri, thanks for commenting and following the blog. I actually have been posting regular Guyday Friday posts at my RA Facebook page, The Richard Armitage Effect. But I would like to try to get back into the habit of celebrating Guyliciousness here, too. He is and will always remain very special to me. ❤

Leave a Reply

