I guess you could sort of say I’m prepping for ‘Hannibal’ . . .

Standard

I haven’t watched any of “Hannibal” yet, not having the ability to satisfactorily live stream and not being willing to pay for DVDs (after all, they don’t have Richard in them). 😉

 

I do intend to read the  book “Red Dragon,” if I can just get to the library one day or locate an inexpensive copy. Having seen the film “Manhunter,” I am already  familiar with the story.  But I am indulging in a little blood and nuttiness tonight. It’s less fattening than Blue Bell ice cream, anyway.

 

Currently, I’m re-watching the 2000 film “American Psycho” on Sundance TV.  IMHO, Christian Bale is brilliant in the role of handsome Harvard grad, Patrick Bateman, an investment banker on Wall Street in the 1980s . Patrick is obsessed with looking good, going to the right restaurants, the hottest clubs, living in the best part of town, having the most attractive business card. He’s greedy and vain, pretentious and self-absorbed, the complete narcissist. And those are his good qualities.

 

american_psycho_poster1

th91GVN9WB

 

He’s also a sadistic serial killer, lusting after blood even more than Valentino suits and high-rise apartments with great views.  He doesn’t merely want to take his victims’ lives; he takes bites right out of their bodies (hmmm,  what is this reminding me of?). Ultimately, we are not certain if all or any of his horrendous crimes have actually taken place or happen solely inside one man’s sick and twisted psyche.

americanpsychous4large

AP is a searing indictment of a decade during which many of the “haves” believed greed was good and nothing succeeded like excess (why have one prostitute when you can afford two, and have sex in front of a big mirror so you can admire your buff physique and sexual prowess while you are at it?).

american-psycho-2

american_psycho-131The Huey Lewis scene always cracks me up.

It’s a satire, it’s a horror film and often it’s–hilarious. In a rather dark way, of course.  I haven’t read the 1991 Brett Easton Ellis book on which the film is based; from what I have read online, the movie does a great job of hinting at some of Bateman’s more horrific acts without actually displaying them all on screen. Sometimes, less IS more.  I always found the alien in the film franchise of the same name to be far more frightening when we only caught fleeting glimpses of the creature.

AP almost received an NC-17 rating, but it seems this wasn’t due to violence or blood and gore, rather to that graphic three-way scene with the prostitutes. It was trimmed enough to make the MPA satisfied with giving the film an “R” rating.  Of all the characters in the film, those girls and Bateman’s sweet secretary are the only ones I feel any sort of sympathy for.

There’s some smarts on display here–it’s definitely not your bog-standard slasher flick, as it could have so easily been.  Mary Harron does an excellent job in the director’s chair, and there are several good performances, but ultimately, it’s Bales’ movie .

 

There’s this promotional image below I remember seeing in Entertainment Weekly when the film came out .  I know, I know, the man’s got (fake) blood on his face, and I shouldn’t find it alluring–yet, I do (I’m sure that the fact I find Christian Bale attractive doesn’t hurt).  What if it was Mr. A’s tongue on display . . .

Oh, my, how might Francis Dolarhyde affect me? Guess I will find out this summer when he arrives on the scene.

 

christian_bale_american_psycho

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

6 responses »

  1. This movie works on so many levels.
    It really shows that group, the Wall Street guys in the 80s. It showcases the humor and absurdity that the book had. He was PERFECT casting, looked perfect, acted perfect.
    Love this movie…. and now I have to return some videotapes 😛

    • I completely agree, NSB. Sometimes I am not sure which is the biggest monster–Bateman or those fellow soulless creatures with whom he hangs. They are all pretty scary. 😉 There truly are laugh-out-loud moments–I do love good.sharp satire–and the absurdity here is perfectly mastered. I also love the fact it was directed by a woman. 😀
      Good luck with returning those videotapes. 😉 I think I will make a call on my cell phone *brings out giant, brick-like contraption*

      Welcome and thanks for commenting!

  2. I bought used copies of Red Dragon and DVD season 1 from Amazon UK I was impressed by the book not so by the DVD the first episode was okay but the second was very unpleasant in parts and the long winded conversations between Lecter and Graham lost me completely. I might try again or I might just ‘wimp out’ of this one.

    • Yve, I definitely want to read the book. My husband tried watching instant video on Amazon Prime tonight while I was covering a beauty pageant for our paper and said he had good luck getting it to work, so I may try my luck and watching some of “Hannibal” (both seasons are available there) and see what I do think. Can’t say what my reaction will be . . .

Leave a Reply

