Prayers for the Charleston congregation. Nine shot dead at Emmanuel AME Church

Standard

http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/crime/shooting-reported-at-church-in-charleston-south-carolina/ar-AAbKtKj?ocid=ansnewsreu11

 

A house of worship should be a safe place, a haven, a sanctuary. Tonight, a white gunman went into an African-American church service and began shooting. Nine people are dead; no word yet on how many more might be injured.

Natural disasters–earthquakes, hurricanes, volcanic eruptions, tornados–are bad enough.  We have no control over such tragic events. But when a person makes a decision to take innocent lives in this manner, I cannot wrap my head around it.  What sort of hatred must you carry in your heart to do this?

Have we come no further than this over the last 50 years?

Crying.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

15 responses »

  1. This is awful. My thoughts go out to the victims, their families and to their community.

    Yes, a church should be safe but so should a school, a shopping mall or a coffee shop. All places we have seen these atrocities occur.

    Senseless. Just senseless.

    • Yes, you’re right, Bolly. So many places we think are safe don’t seem to be anymore. It just seems especially ironic given that most Wednesday night church services here in the US are geared toward prayer—hence they are often called “prayer meetings.” Little did they know what would happen there tonight . . . race relations are already strained right now due to several police shootings /questionable deaths in custody of African-Americans . . . so this could add fuel to the fire. :/

    • Yes, malls, streets, coffee shops, churches and schools should all be safe but in my lifetime I’ve seen all too many atrocities in places that should be safe. Sometimes motivated by hate, sometimes by internal demons and sometimes by (sickest of all imo) the desire for attention and power.
      This latest crime of hate makes me fear for the future.
      My thoughts are with the sole surviving gunshot victim, the families of those who were killed and the survivors and witnesses whose suffering will not easily be amended.

  2. Angie, I saw that a little while ago & have been praying & inwardly reeling myself….. I just attended a leading African American church in my city this past week for something class-related and had a truly wonderful, blessed experience. I feel so kicked in the gut right now. According to another source, the shooter had been seated in the service for up to an hour before opening fire. I just can’t comprehend it. Just praying for these families, this church and for Charleston. Really, I guess I’m praying for us all….

  3. This is just heart rending. I was in prayer meeting last night. Just can’t imagine something like this happening there. What an awful thing to go through.

    • Welcome and thanks for commenting. I thought of all the prayer meetings I have been in during my life and it’s chilling to think of something like this happening. I can only imagine how this will scar those who were present and witnessed this violence.

  4. Sadness for all of you and the people concerned. Guns are too easy – impersonal, kill at the twitch of a trigger, feel nothing. – Why is it always the good who suffer ? How often have you seen that, the ‘promising high school student’ the people who everyone loved. It’s never the really bad who seem to get it. Commiserations Angie and all ..

  5. Horrible. Everything else I could say about it would be political, but I’m grief-stricken and furious at the same time.

  6. Thank you all for your caring hearts and prayers. I admit my sleep was even worse than usual after this. Our neighbor, who passed away several years ago, had a church built on the property my parents deeded over to them where she served as the pastor. I loved to listen to their singing and the sound of the big drum pounding from our back porch. One of my h.s. classmates is the pastor of her own church in Greenville, and I have watched with pride as this widow’s only son has grown up to be a gifted actor, (Honeydripper), musician and performer in community theater and all-around good kid. He always has a smile and a hug ready for me. I kept imagining they had been victims of this incomprehensible act. Yes, angry and sad and disheartened all at the same time.

    • I can relate to that Angie. My older two children were the same ages as the children killed at Dunblane. I will never forget the faces of the parents who rushed to the school that day to look for their little ones. I thought about how I had taken my two to school that morning and dropped them off without a second thought. Never a birthday, special day, or milestone passes without me thinking of the children who never got the chance to celebrate those times, and the parents who were denied the joy I’ve experienced. And now another community devastated.

      • Yes, Bolly. when something happens like this that you can personally, directly relate to in terms of your own family and close friends—it makes it doubly horrific. If we didn’t feel this way, we would be lacking something in our humanity, I believe. After those devastating tornadoes hit Tuscaloosa and the Birmingham area a few years ago, I kept crying every time I saw something related to it. My sister and nephew were in the direct path, but it veered. They were saved, but others were lost. I read an account of a mother on the phone with her daughter, a student at U of A at the exact moment the tornado hit. The daughter was killed. Your heart goes out to the survivors.

Leave a Reply

