OT: Ala. Governor Removes Confederate Flag from State Capitol

Standard

This was just posted online by The Huffington Post. Thank you, Governor Bentley. It needed to happen.

WASHINGTON — Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley (R) ordered the removal of the Confederate flag from the grounds of the state Capitol Wednesday morning, saying it was simply “the right thing to do.”

The flag is part of a confederate memorial at the Capitol in Montgomery. Two state workers came out Wednesday morning and “with no fanfare quickly and quietly took the flag down,” according to AL.com.

Bentley said his decision to remove the flag was, in part, a response to last week’s massacre of nine African-Americans in a historic black church in Charleston, South Carolina. Dylann Storm Roof, the accused shooter, was a racist who proudly displayed the Confederate flag. The incident has sparked renewed criticism of Confederate tributes across the South.

“Yes, partially this is about that,” said Bentley. “This is the right thing to do. We are facing some major issues in this state regarding the budget and other matters that we need to deal with. This had the potential to become a major distraction as we go forward. I have taxes to raise, we have work to do. And it was my decision that the flag needed to come down.”

A spokeswoman for the governor told The Huffington Post she was looking into whether the removal of the flag was permanent.

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley (R) has called on her state’s legislature to remove the Confederate flag from state grounds. The move would require a two-thirds vote of approval from both chambers.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

6 responses »

  1. I am so incredibly happy about this and what it represents. Having never thought that it would happen in my lifetime, I am more than a little amazed that there has been movement. However, my joy is tempered by the fact that it seemingly took this horrific act.
    Alabama. South Carolina. Good for them!!
    Now we’ll see about Georgia, Mississippi, N. Carolina…and Texas.
    And the impact this issue and votes asso. with it will have on elections. I heard a commentary which spelled some things out and made sense, that this could REALLY impact and trickle into multiple areas of GOP votes and state / national elections.

    Reaction:
    It’s interesting (though not unanticipated by some) that as soon as Walmart, Amazon, Seras & Ebay announced they’d stop selling Confederate flags, in light of the horror…
    http://www.cnn.com/2015/06/22/politics/confederate-flag-walmart-south-carolina/

    …there’d be a run on them. And there was. At Amazon — to the tune of a 8,000% skyrocket in sales in 24 hours. Yes.
    http://www.cbsnews.com/news/charleston-shooting-amazon-confederate-flag-sales-skyrocket/

    I’m sure that some people think they’re going to buy, hold, then resell and make money. And others may be clutching for perceived heritage reasons.

    Angie, as a southerner, born and bred (OMG, I just typed corn and bread! HA! Sorry! i was trying to talk and type at the same time in my office – always dangerous. And I’m late going to lunch. Clearly am hungry.)… Let’s try this again… Would you feel comfortable discussing people’s heritage ideas asso. with the flag? From what you’ve actually witnessed, and people you’ve talked to, in your area. On both sides? I’d really, honestly like to know from someone THERE, as opposed to through a corporate media filter. Or perhaps that’s a post for another time? If not, that’s cool too, just thought I’d ask. Thank you so much for posting THIS!! As always, you are awesome!

    • Me, too, Karen, me, too. I am so sorry it took nine people being killed during their church service to be the catalyst, but so glad it has happened and as the governor said, “It’s the right thing to do.”

        • I am also very happy the Supreme Court upheld ObamaCare because that’s how I am able to have insurance these days. I have been feeling very much in need of getting back into more writing of late. I only get maybe one or two assignments from the paper a week and that is simply not enough. But I am thankful for the extra income!

          • I’m also glad that Obama Care will survive, as, clearly are 6 Million+ Americans…including YOU! I’m so glad FOR YOU! You’re an awesome writer. I know more things will come. ::nods:: and you see…now may not be the time to leave your blog…just as you want to write… Do you honestly think you’ll have nothing to say in response to Hannibal? Perish the thought! 😉

Leave a Reply

