It really *is* all in the perspective.

Standard

Recently, this photo taken last year in London of RA with that bottle of champagne (one that was ultimately auctioned off for charity) popped up and pretty much everybody agreed it just looked–odd. Servetus blogged about it over at Me + Richard Armitage as commenters chimed on what made it such a funny-looking photo of Mr. A.

screen-shot-2015-07-08-at-8-55-15-pm

 

Holding that oversized bottle (is it a magnum or a jeroboam?) in his hands makes our strapping six-foot two (or three) inch tall actor look positively diminutive, doesn’t it? The lighting doesn’t help, casting shadows that somehow make his slender yet solid neck look downright skinny.

We are accustomed to others looking petite in RA’s majestic presence. Below, a still of Dexter Fletcher as the German “boobie” on the set of Robin Hood with RA as Sir Guy. At 5’6″ Dexter is my height (and the same height as Lucy Griffiths, who played Marian), yet from this angle he appears even shorter, doesn’t he?

 

ep2-4

Now, take a look at this photo of pro basketball player turned commercial pitchman and occasional actor, Shaquille O’Neal.  I should point out that is a normal 12 oz. soft drink can he is holding.  Shaq is 7’1″ with a weight of 325 lbs. and wears a size 23 shoe. I am guessing he has them custom-made . . . he can certainly afford it.

44d9dc4236bd8ef521f9510217bfd221

It really IS all in the perspective, isn’t it? Next to Shaq, almost all of us are shrimps! 😉

 

 

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

3 responses »

  1. A couple of weeks ago I had to meet a prominent politician ( in my professional capacity). I’m relatively tall at 5’9 and the minister is, it turns out, tiny. Unfortunately the meeting was filmed and shown on the evening news and I looked like a giant. Even more unfortunately, quite a few people saw it and now a standard start to a conversation is “I saw you on the TV. You looked so….tall!”

  2. Is that REALLY Mr A or his Crucible ‘double’ understudy – Marshal something? sorry, forgot his name but he did look like that!
    It definitly looks more like his understudy!

  3. I think it’s *obviously* RA in that photo with the bottle. Not only does it look like him, but the bottle has his signature on it, and it would have been pointless to have a photograph of his understudy with it in the fundraising photo.

Leave a Reply

