Comparison is the thief of joy; or, accepting who I am where I am right now

Standard

Thoughts on the pit of comparison and envy via my personal blog, Musings of a Mid-Century Modern Girl . . .

Musings from a Mid-Century Modern Girl

the_sin_of_envy_by_sorabelle The Sin of Envy by Sorabelle

We’ve all heard that old saying about the grass always being greener on the other side (personally, I love the title of the late, great Erma Bombeck’s book, “The Grass is Always Greener Over the Septic Tank”).

envy

I like to think that I am not a particularly envious or jealous person; when someone I know has something wonderful happen in his or her life, I am truly happy for them.

But I have to be honest.

There are times when I look at others who do not seem to have the health challenges or the financial struggles that I continue to experience and–hey, presto!- there go those unpleasant twinges inside. I see people who are able to do things I cannot physically or financially accomplish, and I sense myself turning a certain shade of green that really isn’t a good look on me (or anyone else).

photo edit by ravenxcorps Eye of Envy photo…

View original post 514 more words

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks, that was a good post and a good reminder for me to read. I am happy to say I am not envious in my personal life but I do tend to have a bit of a problem with it in my work life….mixed in with a little passive aggressive and competitiveness. I constantly try to keep a check on it (people think of me as so nice! But I feel I’m really not as good as I can be deep down). Thanks for your post, it’s a reminder to ‘keep on track’ come Monday morning!

  2. Thanks, sparkhouse1, I am glad it was of some benefit to you. 🙂 I wonder if many of us who are genuinely nice folks tend to feel sometimes “if they only really KNEW me . . ” It feels as if I’ve had those feelings off and on my entire life.

    I try to remind myself the only person I need to compare myself to, whether on a personal or work basis, is, well, ME. Am I doing the best I can to be a better person than I was yesterday? There are always going to be smarter, stronger, healthier, prettier, younger, more successful and gifted people than I am and always those who aren’t.

    Some days, due to the FMS/CFS kicking my butt, all I can seem to accomplish is surviving. And that’s OK, too. My track record for that so far is 100 percent! 😉 Let’s just keep on keepin’ on as best we can, girl! Thanks again for reading and commenting. 😀

Leave a Reply

