Invisible Illness Humor: Because Laugh Lines Are Better Than Tears~Post 6 for IIAW

Standard

Final post for Invisible Illness Awareness Week~I hope to leave you laughing 😀

Musings from a Mid-Century Modern Girl

This is the final blog post of my week-long effort to support Invisible Illness Awareness Week.  And I thought I would try to leave you laughing.  My dad had a favorite saying: “A little laughter in life.” His own life was often not easy, and telling jokes and sharing funny stories was a way for him to lighten his load and brighten some of his pysche’s darker corners.

My daddy, Father's Day 2001, I believe, "setting a spell" outside Cracker Barrel. My daddy, Father’s Day 2001, I believe, “setting a spell” outside Cracker Barrel.

Another saying I heard growing up was “You gotta laugh sometimes just to keep from cryin,’ child.” Developing a sense of humor about everything you go through when you are battling a chronic invisible illness helps. It helps you retain your sanity, de-stress a little and  just simply feel better.  Here are some of my favorite memes and graphics that allow me to chuckle, giggle and simply laugh to keep from crying.  …

View original post 7 more words

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

Leave a Reply

