A great black cat crossed her path today . . . Happy Guyday Friday the 13th!

Standard

“Some people think days like today are most unlucky …” He purred.

She smiled, tilting her head. “But I’ve never been superstitious.”

A flash of white teeth. Clear blue eyes tinged with grey gleamed as he leaned in close. Dangerously close.

“So you have no fear of black cats crossing your path, my lady?” A dark whisper, murmured in her ear.

Her heart thumped hard in her chest. Could he hear it?

“No . . . not at all. They are such–beautiful, elegant creatures. Who simply need to be–appreciated.”
She caught her breath as she felt his strong, nimble fingers wrap around one wrist, gently caressing it. He spoke again, his voice husky and deep.

“And you have the right touch to tame the beast, my lady?”

She sighed. “Just let me show you . . .”

A dark laugh. “With pleasure . . .”

guyday friday 13th

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

13 responses »

  1. OK, gotcha! I do understand. It’s why I use acronyms all the time in my volunteer work. Why write out Butler County Humane Society when I can use BCHS or Bark in the Park when it’s easier to do BiTP? πŸ˜‰

    • Absolutely πŸ™‚ BTW, I really admire your commitment to the rescue world … my husband is a veterinarian. To me, anyone working to save animals is a hero πŸ™‚

      • Oh, thank you. πŸ˜€ That’s wonderful about your hubby. I am so proud of my former student who is now our town’s vet with a thriving clinic (two lady vets work with him). Watching this big, strapping guy work ear mite medicine into one of the kitten’s ears so gentlyΒ made me smile. ❀

  2. I instantly thought of RA as MC when reading this, as I have just finished reading Discover of Witches and beginning the second book in the series. Thanks for the ‘fright’!Love the thought of him hearing ‘her heart’!

  3. Purrrow ! He is definately a big black cat! Couldn’t have put it better myself. Love it.
    Angie if you want to read a good blog about ‘Urban and the shed crew’ by a fan who was there on both days and met Richard also, go to gpg44blog Blondes prefer gentlemen – It’s Laura Day’s blog. Think you’ll like it.

Leave a comment