Guyday Friday: Ladywriter unleashes her inner scream–it’s FUN!

Standard

“It’s been quite a week for you, hasn’t it, Ladywriter,” Sir Guy said, before popping another Danish Christmas cookie into his mouth and chewing with evident satisfaction (two tins for $5 at Walgreen’s. Ladywriter could not resist).

“Yep. And it’s all caught up with me today.” Still wearing her Gerri-like rose print PJs at 6 p.m., LW winced as she flexed her right hand and stretched her lower back. Both body parts were being downright stroppy. Weather changes were on the way, big ones, and WB (Weather Body) didn’t like them much.

She managed a smile for the Hot Velveteen Henchman. “Of course, having you in the audience last night for our mystery dinner theatre was a treat. You and Benny–my two favorite tall, dark and handsome knights. Gave me that extra boost of confidence I needed.”BeFunky_Grunge_1cc

“And it all went splendidly, my dearest LW. You proved a most convincing drunk–and that scream? That young wench up front jumped–literally–in her seat. Most blood curdling.”

LW flashed him a grin. “I did my best to channel those scream queens from the slasher movies. And what do you know? Turned out the killer actually had done away with me earlier and that scream was a recording from–a horror movie!” Ladywriter looked downright gleeful. “So I got it right and didn’t even know that’s how it was going to turn out!!”

1_060

“And I have to say, Sir Guy, I enjoyed letting it all out. Does that make sense?”

Sir Guy gave her a wry lop-sided smile. “The need to scream? Oh, my lady, no one understands more.”

Ladywriter thought of Sir Guy’s dealings with the Treacherous Troll, Arrow Boy and She Who Must Not Be Named.

“Too true, my dear Sir Guy.” She held out the cookie tin. “Have another . . .”

“Don’t mind if I do, dear LW.”

BeFunky_OrtonStyle_1333

Oh, it was always such a pleasure watching that ChaRActer eat . . . *sigh*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And apparently, it’s quite entertaining to watch me get schnockered. 😉

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

3 responses »

  1. Oh, yes! I’m so glad the play was a success, your scream and all. As I suggested to Betsy, you really ought to “take it on the road.” I hope the weather body shuts up and cooperates.

Leave a comment