Still OK in LA, or the Unexpected Christmas Night

Standard

(I started writing this post last night when the weather got wild and wooly and we weren’t certain just what was going to happen. We lost electricity for several hours. It certainly wasn’t  a boring Yuletide, but it didn’t lead to a restful night, either. Just getting going this afternoon. Thanks again for all your thoughts, prayers and expressions of concern.)

It is Christmas night here in Lower Alabama. Rain pouring down outside, wind battering against the windows periodically, thunder rumbling.  Heavy rotation–a possible tornado– is moving toward our state capital, Montgomery. We are still under the gun here, too, under a tornado warning until 10 p.m., and a tornado watch until 4 a.m. We are watching the Doctor Who Christmas Special and switching to the Doppler Radar during the commercial breaks to check on Mother Nature’s progress, hoping our little corner of the world would be spared.

Injury (and at least one death) and destruction have already occurred to our east in parts of Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi and to our south in Mobile, where a medical center, church and commercial buildings suffered damage.

thCAHGDWNB

Oh, dear Doctor, we  could use you to bring your sonic screwdriver and work a bit of interstellar magic. At least the really bad stuff stayed away long enough to allow us to watch your latest adventures uninterrupted by loss of electricity or satellite signal.

Nevertheless, I do have a flashlight close by. Just in case.

I have a sonic screwdriver, too, actually–only mine just lights up and makes neat sounds, more’s the pity.

It’s getting closer, the thunder, louder and rain sounding absolutely torrential. I keep hearing thumping sounds. The wind–

We lose our satellite signal. Now the electricity is flickering on and off. Well, I knew it couldn’t last forever, not in this. I hear a roaring sound and clutch the cat against me. “Do you think it sounds like a train?” I ask her as if she’s going to respond. Tornadoes often sound like trains.

And now it’s gone, the electricity that is. Boy, is it dark.

A few minutes later, I see a glimmer of light through the doorway. Benny, with his flashlight, and the handy-dandy little battery-operated LCD portable TV we found last year. We watch the radar on it. Finally Benny decides to go to bed. He does have to work tomorrow, after all.

“It looks like the worst of it is past us now,” he says. Thank goodness.

I am too wound up to go to sleep. I watch the rest of a Twilight Zone episode–how apt on this night!–and an episode of an old favorite, Perry Mason. Comfort watching on an unsettling night.

Perry Mason (TV series)

Perry Mason (TV series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The battery light is flashing now. I shut it off. It’s now quiet. Eerily quiet.

I miss the gentle whirring sound, the hum of electricity. I can’t sleep in the absolute stillness.  And so I stare at the ceiling and stroke Callie’s soft fur  and wait for morning . . . it is going to be a long night.

December 26th– It’s  an overcast and cold day. The winds are still howling, due to die down soon. We might even get a little sunshine before night falls. Grateful to still have roof over head and electricity once again.

Grateful to still be here.

Grateful.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

13 responses »

  1. Thank goodness you’re ok!! I’ve just read the last two posts, it must have been a horrible night… Well, it’s always lovely to read you, but I’m specially happy and grateful for this post! Big, big hobbity hugs and I’m really glad it’s all over xx

    • Thanks, hon. It was quite a memorable Christmas night, I will say that! I didn’t see how we’d be able to keep power in the midst of all that, so I could deal with a few hours w/o it. 😉

  2. Glad your okay. We got 5 and 1/2 inches of snow in Western PA where I’m visiting my family. I had fun shoveling because everyone is sick except my Mom and I. The roads are terrible, so we’re staying put. We were planning on going to see The Hobbit today, too. Oh well, the best layed plans…

    • What a Christmas for much of the US! I wish we could have gotten a couple of inches of snow (something the kids could have enjoyed) instead of what we did get–although we did really need the rain. Sorry it messed up your plans, but MOther Nature can definitely throw a monkey wrench into the works, can’t she??

    • Yes, it’s been one of the worst in a while. I think back to Hurricane Opal and how it seemed to last forever–and of course, we did suffer damage then, all those uprooted trees and the barn’s collapse and no electricity for several days. So glad we dodged the bullet and that there were no more casualties from this storm system than there were.

Leave a Reply

