Zombies, Thorin, and My “Mr. Kennedy”: Sunday night chez FL

Standard

I hope you’ve had a lovely Sunday/Monday. I slept in today and and then spent the afternoon hanging out with Benny and the cats.  We talked, watched TV, cuddled and played.

When I dropped off to sleep whilst watching the charming “Robots” Benny went and baked a fresh batch of brownies ( Guy’s eyes just lit up!) and fixed some supper.

Making sure my Sunday night shows were going to record properly–I am down to “only” three now, Masterpiece Classics: Upstairs, Downstairs, Homeland and Dexter–I continued to do some family bonding tonight with my two fuzzy babies and my own personal Harry Kennedy.

We are now all caught up on The Walking Dead, having had a marathon viewing of the first four eps  of S3 yesterday and the latest tonight.

Danai Gurira (Michonne) Rick (Andrew Lincoln) and the Governor (David Morrisey) in a promo pic for S3 of The Walking Dead. courtesy of unrealitytv.com

I have to say Andy Lincoln (RA’s co-star in Strike Back) continues to go from strength to strength as Rick, the former deputy sheriff leading a rag-tag group in Georgia struggling to survive against an infection that turns folks into, well, the walking dead. Rick’s turned into a real bad-ass, take-no-prisoners kind of guy and I am rooting for him all the way. David Morrissey–yet another attractive and talented Brit turning up in an American series and doing a pretty decent job with a southern accent, I might add–is guest starring this season. He is the leader of a secure settlement, Woodbury, which may not be the place of refuge it is presented as being.

And tonight I also pre-ordered my Hobbit tickets!  We will be going to see RA as Thorin Sunday, Dec. 16 at 1 p.m. at the Promenade Cinema in Prattville.  Squee! Richard in 3D on the big screen! No HFR 3D, but no drive to Atlanta, either. At this point, I will take what I can get.

I would LOVE to see it in IMAX and there is an IMAX theatre in Birmingham, but it appears all the tickets are sold out for the weekend before Christmas (the time our family celebration is set at my oldest sister’s home there).  😦

Now, assuming our local theatre has a midnight showing of The Hobbit on Dec. 13 (they haven’t released the schedule yet) I have already told Benny I want to go by myself.

“You want to see it twice?”

*laughing uproariously in her head–you silly MAN!!–she blinks and gives a hesitant smile*

“Well, yeah–I mean, it’s the first time with a substantial role for Richard in a big movie on the big screen . . . and it might be better if I go–by myself. The first time. You know.” *she pauses, sheepish grin crossing face*

“Don’t want to embarrass you or anything.”

*he sputters with laughter*

“Hey, I am excited about this, OK? To finally see him. And he’d worked so hard for so long. And he’s such a sweet guy. Like you. It’s one of the reasons I love him so much. He reminds me of–you.”

*he cuts a sidelong glance at her, his lips twitching dangerously*

“You’re saying he’s just–swell.”

*she grins*

“Exactly.” *she leans in and kisses his stubbled cheek. She likes stubbled cheeks on the men she fancies*

“Just like you . . .”

10 responses »

  1. Congratulations on getting your tickets!

    Re. “*he cuts a sidelong glance at her, his lips twitching dangerously*”, how Guy-like of him.
    Aww, Benny is so sweet; he is everything we want Harry Kennedy to be.

    • Thanks! I was afraid if I waited too long I wouldn’t be able to get them for that first weekend. Yes, that look was definitely Guy-like (and he’s never really watched RH, either). I do dearly love my own LA version of HK. He’s my darling lad.

  2. I had a good Sunday, thanks, congratulations for your tickets. Benny is very sweet. The actress of The Walking Dead has just worked with Richard in the Black sky (there is a strong link between RA and this series 🙂 ). Have a good Monday.

    • Yes, Ms. Callens played Andrew Lincoln’s wife in the series. Oh, and another show I watch on Sunday nights, Homeland, has David Harewood, who co-starred as Tuck with Richard in RH and also as a baddie in Strike Back. Even on American TV, there are many connections to our dear RA. Have a lovely Monday, my dear!

  3. Sweet post! I’m glad you have tickets. I can’t go to the midnight showing as the closest theater is 50 minutes away and I have to work the next day! No, I can’t take off because it’s the day we go to the retirement home to sing! Oh, I will have to get some tickets soon!

    • Hey, you can’t let the old folks down! I am still not even sure our local theatre is going to have a midnight showing. They’ve done it for Twilight and Harry Potter, so I am hoping they will. That’s only 12 miles away. Otherwise, I won’t be going.

  4. My goodness! Your husband must be one of the sweetest husbands ever….! 😀
    “You want to see it twice?”…. twice, three, four… hundred times… give or take a few… lol!!

    • I am firmly convinced he is indeed one of the sweetest husbands in the history of the universe. 😀 Yeah, if I told him just how many times I would like to see it, well–he WOULD think I had gone around the bend. 😉

Leave a comment