Priscilla, you still inspire me.

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Back Porch Screen Door” by Angie Long

My former high school art teacher, who moved mainly into the arena of fine art photography a number of years ago, has been on my mind. She’s also an animal lover and fellow board member of the local humane society and I know she will love our new “additions.” It’s great to have someone who was a mentor to you when you were young become a friend as an adult.  We are a generation apart in age, but we are still kindred spirits and that always bridges the gap.

I took some photos this afternoon during the afternoon walkies with the canines and did some editing that I rather liked. Definitely feeling very artsy-fartsy. Priscilla, you still inspire me–and plenty of others, I am certain. Thanks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Puppy”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Sky Meets Screen Door

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“My Old Bedroom Window”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Mama’s Clothespins”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Daffodils”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Daddy’s Barometer”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Farmhouse on March Day”

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

  1. Goodness Angie! It seems you are not only a great writer but talented photographer as well! These are lovely- always a fan of a bit of whimsy

    • Angie is my name, a touch of whimsy is my game. 😉 It all goes back to being an artsy-fartsy sort of person. Give credit to my grandma, who painted, my parents, who supported my art habit and some great teachers along the way.

  2. Dang! Talk about fine art photography, some of these could go up against the pros favorably. First, third, fourth, and sixth would make a good suite for a local gallery showing. They’re original and beautiful.

    • *blushing* Thank you so much! I was really, really pleased overall but I did need to get some feedback from others. I just might consider having prints made and showing them at a local fine arts league show or enter them in the county fair–who knows??

    • Thank you so much, Obscura. These images bring back so many memories for me. I feel a stronger and stronger need to–not exactly reconnect, because I am always connected with my past here–but to record my past, memorialize it?

Leave a Reply

