OT: The Charms of Susan Branch

Standard

http://www.susanbranch.com/newsletters/2012-10/

I got my latest e-newsletter from author/illustrator Susan Branch today (the link to her blog is above).  I love her books. The beautiful writing you see inside them is not a computer font but Branch’s actual handwriting and all the illustrations are largely self-taught artist Branch’s own charming watercolors.

Branch has written a variety of books and calendars over the past 20-plus years celebrating holidays, seasons, friendships and girlfriends. I  am happy to say that I own a number of them.

She has a lot of great recipes, but, as an editorial review on Amazon says, “the true theme of the books is family, love, friends and the celebration of life.”

Author/illustrator Susan Branch, a personal favorite. (photo courtesy of simplearts.com)

When did my cat Thumper pose for Susan?

A page from one of Branch’s delightful calendars.

This book makes a great gift idea for best buddies and sisters. It’s a lot of fun.

Branch’s website also offers a variety of notecards,  kitchen  and household items and personal accessories for purchase. But you can enjoy all the goodness of her website and e-newsletters without spending a dime.  That’s a bargain!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

9 responses »

  1. Thanks for the link, I bookmarked it. I’m the most un-housemouse person ever, but I agree with her that everyone has to try honey crisp apples. They are amazing. 🙂

  2. Such fun! I, too, am a fan of Honeycrisp apples, but I also like Pink Lady for eating, and pippins or Granny Smith for pies and crisps. Northern Spy is an old variety that is a good cooking apple, too. Here in Spain, the named varieties are not labeled as such, so you have to go by look and sniff. Golden Delicious are quite popular, and they work for tart Tatin. ‘Bout time I made one.

Leave a comment